3 Months Later


Has it really  been 4 months since I’ve shared anything here on My Happy Dance?  Yes, apparently it has and that makes me sad.  I can’t help it, Closed the Cover has consumed my life!   It makes me smile to think that this used to be my blog and I started Closed the Cover as just another little side project so that I didn’t constantly talk my husband’s ear off about books.  Instead it took over everything, became all-consuming and swallowed me up in its abyss.  Now I’m inundated with books to read, book reviews to write, authors to interview, book tours to schedule, social media to manage and I’m working with two three authors outside of the web to promote themselves and their books.  What makes it even crazier is that I still talk my husband’s ear off about books!  So much for that idea.  Can we say FAIL?   Poor guy.  I’m lucky he loves me so much!

So, what’s up?  Here’s what’s up!

I’m a bit pissed off at Starbucks.  I always order my coffee at 130 degrees (cooler than their standard temperature) because I’m a giant baby.  If it’s not 130 degrees I have to wait like 20 minutes before I can drink it because it’s too hot.  Well….I went to Starbucks and I ordered my usual (Grande Raspberry White Mocha at 130 degrees) and the fool barista didn’t make it at 130!  I drank it and burnt my tongue.  Now it’s blistered and I’m mad.  Next time I’ll order a frappucino because…you know…THAT will teach them to mess with me and my coffee!  *sigh*

I’ve had doggy #2 for almost a year . I can’t believe it.  Actually, he will be a year old next month but I didn’t really get him until April.  Still.  A YEAR?  Already?  He’s still a whiny baby with separation anxiety but we’re working on it.  I had a fight with the lady I adopted him from a week or so ago when she told me it’s mandatory he be neutered or she’ll take him back since I’m violating his adoption contract.   I told her I dare her to come try to take my dog.  The vet said not to neuter due to health risks b/c of his small size.  It’ll go to court if it must.  I haven’t heard from her since then.  She should learn – don’t come between me and my pups!

Speaking of pups (or is this an odd transition?) – we still haven’t had a baby.  *sigh again*  Oh well.  I’ve learned not to stress over it and let it be.  I still pray that God be with us but I can’t obsess over it.  I have an unbelievable husband and two amazing little pups.  Life is good even if I don’t hear the pitter patter of little feet.

I was finally able to get away from my stress-filled crazy “I’m going to go insane” county government job.  I now have a city government job.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for government and politics.  At least the city has less drama (so far).  My biggest challenge right now is convincing one of my employees to keep her shoes on in the office.  Is that really so hard?  I never thought so but it sure seems like it now.

I’m thinking of taking this blog self-hosted but myhappydance.com is taken.  Of course it is.  It’s taken by some dance lady.  HappyDance.com is taken too.  I’ll need a whole new name but that’s kind of ok.  I don’t mind provided I could think of a name I liked.  That’s always the hard part isn’t it?

Leave a comment