Fun? Cry? Oh My…


Back in 1983 Cyndi Lauper had a song that said girls just want to have fun.  She was right!  She still is.  That’s all we want.  That’s all we really want.  Some fun.

Leslie Gore, in 1963, told us that if you were trying to have fun and it was your party it was ok to cry.  She would have!  She even said, “It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to!”  Yeah!!!  That’s right.  Dammit…if I want to cry I’m going to cry!  If I’m trying to have fun at my party but my party turns out crappy and I’m not having fun then I’m going to cry and sob just because I can!  Besides, you would cry too if it happened to you.

Then, of course, comes 2006 and Fergie has to come out and chastise an entire generation of girls who have been crying over their crummy parties and tell everyone that big girls don’t cry.  I guess there’s an age limit on when we can be disappointed over bad parties.  Kinda disappoints me really.  I sort of liked knowing I could cry if I wanted to.

Sometimes I find myself wondering how a conversation between the three of them would go.

Cyndi – I come home in the morning light, my mother says “When you gonna live your life right?”

Fergie – This has nothing to do with you.  It’s personal, myself and I.

Leslie – Leave me alone for a while! ‘Till Johnny’s dancin’ with me I’ve got no reason to smile.

Fergie – But I’ve got to get a move on with my life.  It’s time to be a big girl now and big girls don’t cry

Leslie – It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to! Cry if I want to, cry if I want to! You would cry too if it happened to you.

Cyndi – Some boys take a beautiful girl, and hide her away from the rest of the world. I wanna be the one to walk in the sun.

Leslie – Judy and Johnny just walked through the door.  Like a queen with her king.

Cyndi – Oh, girls, just wanna have…that’s all they really want…..Some fun….

Leslie – Why was he holding her hand? When he’s supposed to be mine!

Fergie – Fairytales don’t always have a happy ending, do they?  And I foresee the dark ahead…

Leslie – It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to! Cry if I want to, cry if I want to!

Fergie – It’s time to be a big girl now and big girls don’t cry. Don’t cry. Don’t cry.

Leslie – It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to! Cry if I want to, cry if I want to!

Fergie – We’ve got some straightenin’ out to do.

Cyndi – We’re not the fortunate ones.

Fergie – I’ve got to get a move on with my life.  It’s time to be a big girl now.

Cyndi – You know you’re still number one, but girls, they wanna have fun.

Leslie – Playin’ my records, keep dancin’ all night.

Fergie – The path that I’m walking,  I must go alone.

Leslie – Leave me alone for a while.

Cyndi – I wanna be the one to walk in the sun! Oh, girls, they wanna have fun. Oh, girls…

Leslie – ‘Till Johnny’s dancin’ with me I’ve got no reason to smile.

Fergie – I’ll be your best friend.

Cyndi – That’s all they really want.

Leslie – I’ll cry if I want to! Cry if I want to, cry if I want to! You would cry too if it happened to you.

Fergie – I’m gonna miss you like a child misses their blanket but I’ve got to get a move on with my life.  It’s time to be a big girl now and big girls don’t cry!

Cyndi – You know you’re still number one, but girls, they wanna have fun!

Leave a Reply

