This Band


The+Offspring+offspringfisheye5000512

I love them.  I always will.  I know a lot of people, a lot of people, don’t like them but that doesn’t matter to me.  I like them.  They are the one band I can always listen to no matter what my mood is or how I’m feeling.  They’ve been around since 1989 and still…I adore them.

Know what I really love?  Their lyrics.  Sure, some are a bit disturbing but they have a message. 

Beheaded –  Mommy doesn’t have her head anymore – Keep it underneath my bed on the floor – That’s alright though
That’s ok – She never really used her head anyway – Daddy called me a silly bore – Bet he wont say that anymore – Because the way his body’s severed in two – His vocal chords are gonna be hard to use – Beheaded – Watch you spurt like a garden hose – Beheaded – Bloody mess all over my clothes – Watch my girlfriend come to the door – Chop off her head, she falls to the floor – Watching my baby’s jugular flow – Really makes my motor go – Wrap a towel around the bloody stump – Take my baby’s body to the city dump – Then wipe the mess off the bloody axe – Scoop all the heads in my burlap sack – All my collection – Adorns my rooms on bamboo poles – Used to be a little – But a little got more and more
Now I’m craving yours – Night brings bad dreams – Bad dreams and guillotines – Off with her head – Find another victim for my machine – Put him in a homemade guillotine – Blade falls, gonna need a casket – Watch the head plop in a wicker basket – Leave the house at a quarter to four – Come back with sixteen or more – Cause the more I want, the more I see
Got a funny feeling coming over me

Gotta Get Away  – I’m getting edgy all the time – There’s someone around me just a step behind – It’s kinda scary the , the shape I’m in – The walls are shakin’and they’ re closing in – Too fast or a bit too slow – I’m paranoid of people and it’s starting to show – There’ s one guy that I can’t shake – Over my shoulder is a big mistake – Sitting on the bed – Or lying wide awake – There’s demons in my head – And it’s more than I can take – I think I’m on a roll – But I think it’s kinda weak
Saying all I know is – I gotta get away from me – I tell you something just ain’t right – My head is on loose but my shoes are tight – Avoiding my fiends cause they all bug – Life is like a riddle and I’m really stumped – If you reason, don’t you know – Your own preoccupation is where you’ll go – I think I’m being followed, I look around – It’s only my shadow creepin’ on the ground

Come Out and PlayLike the latest fashion – Like a spreading disease – The kids are strappin’ on their way to the classroom – Getting weapons with the greatest of ease – The gangs stake their own campus locale – And if they catch you slippin’ then it’s all over pal – If one guy’s colors and the other’s don’t mix – They’re gonna bash it up – Hey man you talkin’ back to me? – Take him out – You gotta keep ’em separated – Hey man you disrespecting me? – Take him out – You gotta keep ’em separated – Hey they don’t pay no mind – If you’re under 18 you won’t be doing any time – Hey come out and play – By the time you hear the siren – It’s already too late – One goes to the morgue and the other to jail – One guy’s wasted and the other’s a waste

She’s Got Issues
I’m seeing this girl and she just might be out of her mind – Well she’s got baggage and it’s all the emotional kind – She talks about closure and that validation bit – I don’t mean to be insensitive, but I really hate that shit – Oh man she’s got issues – And I’m gonna pay – She thinks she’s the victim – Yeah – Now I know she’ll feel abandoned
If I don’t stay over late – And I know she’s afraid to commit – But it’s only our second date – Oh man she’s got issues – And I’m gonna pay – She says she’s the victim – But she takes it all out on me – I don’t know why you’re messed up – I don’t know why your whole life is a chore – Just do me a favor – And check your baggage at the door – Now she talks about her ex nonstop, but I don’t mind – But when she calls out his name in bed – That’s where I draw the line – You told me a hundred times how your father left and he’s gone – But I wish you wouldn’t call me daddy – When we’re gettin’ it on – Oh man she’s got issues – And I’m gonna pay – She’s playing the victim – And taking it all out on me – My god she’s got issues
And I’m gonna pay – If you think I’m controlling – Then why do you follow me around – If you’re not co-dependent – then why do you let others drag you down – I don’t know why you’re messed up – I don’t know why your whole life is a chore – Just do me a favor – And check your baggage at the door

Hit That – The winds of fortune – Don’t blow the same – She had to get out – And make a change – She had a kid now
But much too young – That baby daddy’s out having fun – He’s saying – I’m on a roll – With all the girls I know – His baby momma – She ain’t so slow – He’s saying – I’m on a roll – With all the girls I know – I know you wanna hit that – I know you wanna hit that, hit that – All the world is gettin’ with, I say – Consequences are a lot, but hey – That’s the way it – That’s the way things go – Hey, hey, hey – What was a family – Is now a shell – We’re raising kids now – Who raise themselves – Sex is a weapon – It’s like a drug – It gets him right into that grave that he just dug – She’s saying – I’m on the run – I’m chasing guys for fun – Her baby daddy – It ain’t his only one – She’s saying – I’m on the run – I’m chasing guys for fun – I know you wanna hit that – I know you wanna hit that, hit that – Everybody’s gettin’ with, I say – Consequences are a lot, but hey – That’s the way it – That’s the way things go – Hey, hey, hey – Well it winds up – Broken up – Really such a shame – But why not – Take a chance – Everything’s a game – And it don’t stop – Hooking up – Nothing’s gonna change – The more he’s trying – The more he’s buying – He says – I’m on a roll – With all the girls I know – His baby momma – Don’t need to know
He’s saying – I’m on a roll – With all the girls I know – I know you wanna hit that – I know you wanna hit that, hit that – All the world is gettin’ with, I say – Consequences are a lot, but hey – That’s the way it – That’s the way things go

Kristy, Are You Doing Ok?There’s a moment in time – And it’s stuck in my mind – Way back, when we were just kids –
‘Cause your eyes told the tale – Of an act of betrayal – I knew that somebody did – Oh, waves of time – Seem to wash away – The scenes of our crimes – For you this never ends – Can you stay strong? – Can you go on? – Kristy, are you doing okay? – A rose that won’t bloom – Winter’s kept you – Don’t waste your whole life trying – To get back what was taken away – Though the marks on your dress – Had been neatly repressed – I knew that something was wrong – And I should have spoke out – And I’m so sorry now – I didn’t know – ‘Cause we were so young – Oh, clouds of time – Seem to rain on – Innocence left behind – And it never goes away – Can you stay strong? – Can you go on? – Kristy, are you doing okay? – A rose that won’t bloom – Winter’s kept you – Don’t waste your whole life trying – To get back what was taken away – Oh, clouds of time – Seem to rain on – Innocence left behind – And it never goes away (It never goes away) – It never goes away – Can you stay strong? – Can you go on? – Kristy, are you doing okay? – A rose that won’t bloom – Winter’s kept you – Don’t waste your whole life trying – To get back what was taken away

Leave a Reply

