Operation: Registration is Complete


I did it.  I have officially registered for classes for my first semester at Florida State University

Oh…

I mean…I’m sorry…THE Florida State University.  I hate that.  I hate when schools add THE before the school name because I want to shout back at them, “Ummm…you do know that you’re not the only University in Florida, right?  There is also University of Florida, University of Northern Florida, University of Central Florida, University of South Florida, etc…etc…etc…” but I digress.  Their acceptance e-mail told me I was accepted to “The Florida State University” so I guess that’s what they call themselves.  If that’s the case though shouldn’t their initials be TFSU instead of FSU?  Their website is fsu.edu.  Either way, it doesn’t really matter, I’ve been accepted and today I registered for my classes. 

I’ll be taking:

  • Population and Society
  • Social Psychology of Groups
  • Sociology of Law

In case you were wondering, I’ll be earning my degree in Public Administration and Social Sciences.  I’m pretty excited about it.  I thought about taking a 4th class and being completely finished with the Sociology related courses but then I thought against it.  I have a lot of big projects coming up at work in the next few months and I don’t want to be overwhelmed.  I took 3 classes this semester with a different school and felt like I had time for one more but work was slow.  I’d rather go to school an extra semester and graduate with a good .gpa than rush through it and not be my best.

So then, the obvious dilemma…

UF or FSU?  It’s a topic I’ve written about a few times already.  I’ve been a Gator my whole life and it’s not about to change.  UF and FSU played football just the other day.  I think some people expected me to be conflicted but I wasn’t.  Academics and Athletics are completely separate things.  I think I’m always going to think that FSU…

Admittedly though, I don’t hate them like I used to hate them.  It doesn’t seem right anymore considering I’m going to be getting my education through them and they will be my Alma Mater.  I think it’s more an attitude of, “I don’t hate them.  I really don’t care what kind of season they have, it’s really irrelevant.  Oh…wait…they are playing the Gators?!  Well then, Gooooo Gators!!!”  🙂

4 thoughts on “Operation: Registration is Complete

  1. My uni spent LOADS of money on consultants trying to come up with a name only to be given the choice between “Bradford University” or “University of Bradford”. Apparently those little differences mean a lot to them!

    • I’m surprised they didn’t also consider the third option, THE University of Bradford. It’s actually quite ridiculous. I would love to see a poll of students to see if anyone actually cares. The little things sometimes irk me the most.

Leave a Reply

