Permanent Scripture


For the last few years I’ve been thinking about a new tattoo.  I currently have two small ones.   I have a small one on the back of my neck and a second one on my lower right front hip.  I love them both.  I knew when I got my second one that I would have another one done but I also knew that my third one would also probably be my last one. 

I like my tattoos but I work for the government in a very professional capacity and I need the ability to easily hide them in the event that I am required to attend conferences, seminars or other major meetings.  While tattoos are becoming increasingly popular and accepted there are still instances in which I would prefer to not flash them around.  This limits the availability of space for my new ink.  I refuse to tattoo my calf, shin, thigh or any other part of my leg as well as my forearm, upper arm, chest or lower back.  I know…I know…I’m restrictive.  So what does that leave?  It leaves my lower front right hip, upper back and rib cage. 

So what did I decide for my third, and most likely last, tattoo?  I decide to imprint Scripture.  I first mentioned it to a friend who exclaimed, “But that’s so popular! Don’t you want something more unique?”  I couldn’t help but smile.  Why is the popularity of Scripture a bad thing?  I like knowing that permanent Scripture verses are popular and I hope that the people that have these verses inked also follow and love our Lord. 

Then, of course, there are those who will cry out, “But your body is a temple unto God! You cannot defile it with tattoos!”  I understand their feelings on the matter and I respect their opinions however I disagree with their perspective.  Personally I feel that defiling my body would include using harmful drugs, over-indulgences on food which leads to obesity or alcohol which leads to kidney failure, neglecting personal health or hygene and tattoos which are disrespectful to my Lord and my faith.  Maybe I’m wrong, I can admit that possibility, but one day it will me who has to answer to God and to explain myself and I’m ok with explaining why I have His word tattooed on my body.

So the first question is, what verse?  There a few I really like, such as:

“For at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light.” – Ephesians 5:8

“Whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked.” – 1 John 2:6

“And, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace.” – Ephesians 6:15

“If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.” – Galatians 5:25

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” – 2 Timothy 1:7

“Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 8:39

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

” Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

” I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” – Galatians 2:20

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God-  not by works, so that no one can boast.” – Ephesians 2:8-9

Then the second question becomes, do I get the entire verse tattooed or do I just get the Book / Chapter / Verse? 

For example: does that tattoo say, “If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit. – Galatians 5:25” or does it just say “Galatians 5:25”?  I suppose it all depends on where it is written.  If it’s on my lower front left hip then it should say just the Book / Chapter / Verse however it if it is going to be on my rib cage or upper back then I could fit the entire verse provided that I don’t write in large lettering but I wouldn’t want large lettering anyway. 

Interested in helping me decide?  Where do you think it should be and do you have a favorite verse?  It can be one of the verses I listed or you can feel free to suggest your own.

Leave a Reply

