Weddings


As of Saturday, November 3, 2012 both my sister and I are married women.  It’s probably a good that my parent’s don’t have any other girls because I don’t think my super-emotional Dad could have taken giving one more daughter away.  He cried so much at both of our weddings, but that’s what Dad’s do, right?  Lucky for him he gave us both away to men we adore and who adore us in return. 

It’s funny to me when I look at the pictures of my wedding last year and my sister’s wedding this year because we couldn’t be more different.  I wanted a wedding and reception outdoors where it was laidback and comfortable.  We were married at a small Bed & Breakfast, on the water, and it was very relaxed.  I wore a strapless flowing chiffon gown, my hair was up with a flower pinned in it, I had my Maid of Honor and one flower girl, and only our closest family and friends for a total of about 45 guests.

My sister wanted a far more formal wedding.   She held her wedding outdoors behind the banquet hall at a Golf and Country Club.  Her reception was inside the banquet hall.  She wore a strapless (and sparkly!) gown with a full tulle skirt complete with 3D flowers and feathers.  Her hair was long, curled and worn down with a veil pinned in the back of it.  She had four bridesmaids, two flowergirls and one ring bearer.  She invited a lot of friends, family, co-workers, and acquaintances for a total of about 120 guests.

 

As we are in everything, we couldn’t have planned more different weddings but the thing is, we both had exactly what we wanted.  If asked, we would both say that our weddings were beautiful and our marriages are a dream come true. 

Love…it’s such a wonderful and beautiful thing isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

