Freshly Pressed!


An author I worked with earlier this year through my other site, Closed the Cover, asked me if I would be interested in writing a guest post on his blog about my fundraiser to raise money to support Girl’s Education through Room to Read.  Naturally I agreed immediately.  Room to Read is a remarkable organization who does a tremendous job of encouraging education and supporting literacy worldwide.  I take any opportunity I can to talk about them and try to gather more support. 

I wrote a blog for him, How Room to Read Changed My Life.  I talked about how my life was in a downward spiral, I was depressed and even though I knew that life could offer great things I didn’t know where to begin changing.  In 2007 I read a book by John Wood called, “Leaving Microsoft to Change the World” and was immediately inspired.  Here he was leaving a solid career to embark on a new mission to change the world “one book and one child” at a time.  It was a cause I immediately connected with.  I felt a new drive to take control and change my life.  The first thing I did was connect with his organization and their mission and try to find ways to help them even if it’s only monetary. 

After I wrote the post for him and he approved it I received an e-mail from WordPress that they wanted to feature it as Freshly Pressed!  How exciting!  I’ve been a blogger for years and this is the first time I’ve ever received any special promotion from the editors here at WordPress (and it never happened on Blogger where I was before).  The e-mail said it should be featured within the next day or two.  I’m on cloud nine, not because I’m going to be Freshly Pressed but because it couldn’t have happened to a better post.  Andrew’s blogsite, Portraits of Addiction, really deserves recognition.  I hope some of you check it out.  I’m also excited that, of all my posts, WordPress has chosen to feature that one that supports worldwide education and literacy. 

Leave a Reply

