The Dilemma


All women face this dilemma at one point in their lives or another.  It’s inevitable.  It’s the age old question…do I wear my hair long or cut it short?  Only it’s not that simple.

Let’s say I decide to wear my hair long.  It’s already long so let’s say I decide to leave my hair long then there is this question:

  • How long is “long”?  Is it down to my waist long or middle of my back long or just below my shoulders long?
  • Actually, isn’t just below my shoulder’s more “mid-length” than long?

Then once we have that sorted out it gets even more complicated:

  • Should I cut layers into it?  All over layers or just face-framing layers?  Oh God…let’s be careful with those face-framing layers we don’t want to duplicate “The Rachel” and look like we are stuck in the 90’s.  *Cringe*

Then it gets even worse:

  • Bangs?  Bangs are SO in again!  Should I cut bangs?  Should I not cut bangs?  They are such a bitch to grow out but they can look so sexy if done right!  Yeah, IF done right.  It’s so humid down here and when humidity gets into bangs they don’t look sleek and sexy anymore they look instead like a frizzy mess.  Ok…no bangs.

Then it becomes a daily problem:

  • Do I wear it straight or curly today?  Do I have any heat protectant?  If I don’t then I can’t use my flat or curling iron because then it will fry my hair, which will result in split ends, which will mean it has be cut again.  If I do, well, then it’s back to the original problem.  Straight?  Or Curly?  Straight will fall in my face and if I’m at work it’s a pain so I’ll need a cute pin to keep it out of my face.  If it’s curly I need some curl booster to keep it from falling flat and looking like a mess.  Either way, bring a hair tie because it will probably end up tied up by the end of the work day.
  • Unless I decide to wear it up from the beginning.  Spend 5 minutes on Pinterest and you’ll see dozens of hairstyles so I could just wear it up.  The problem is that I don’t have the manual dexterity to do a lot of those really adorable hairstyles.  I can’t braid any hair I can’t see so braiding the back of my hair isn’t an option.  Also, braiding sideways across the back of my head is a laughable idea.  There is no possibility of me doing that.  Ever.
  • Ponytails are always an option.  Right?  Then again, I’m 30.  Isn’t 30 too old for a ponytail?  Now, sure, there are those low and sleek ponytail styles but that is to be used sparingly and as an emergency, not an everyday look at work.  Plus, I hate my hair being pulled off my face and making me look hairless.  I’d rather not, unless I have to.  I seem to have to a lot because this is still my default hairstyle.

Or…

Let’s say I decide to cut it short.

  • How short is short?  I don’t do pixie cuts.  There’s no if’s, and’s, or but’s about it.  Sure, they are super cute and mega-sweet on people like Ginnifer Goodwin, but I’m not Ginnifer Goodwin and it’s not a good look for me.  Nope.  Sorry pixie, you’re out!  I also don’t do mid-length styles.  To me, they look like you just can’t commit.  Too scared to go short but too lazy to go all-out long.  I don’t like it.  It’s one or the other for me.

Then there’s no dilemma about the up or down debate.  It’s down.  It’s always down.  There is no “up” when hair is short.  It’s down.  Always.

The greatest thing about short hair is that it’s so much easier to dress up.  All you have to do is put a single sparkly clip in it or add a simple headband and BOOM! Dressed up.  Got 30 seconds?  You can go from daytime to nighttime in a flash!  Plus, less shower time, less drying time, less styling time, less product investment.  Although, it does require more upkeep.

I don’t know what to do.  I really don’t.  There’s a part of me that likes my long hair but then there’s this other part of me that wants to do what I did 15 years ago and just go in to the salon and tell them “Cut it off!” and go short again.  I don’t know though. I just don’t know. :-/

Leave a Reply

