Sunny Days! Sweeping the Clouds Away!


This morning during the commute to work my husband and I started up a conversation about Sesame Street not wanting Barack Obama to use Big Bird or any characters in his ads and Mitt Romney‘s statement that he would cut funding to PBS.  I know, it’s a hot button right now.  I’m going to bother telling you which candidate I support, or which candidate he supports, or whether or not we are on the same page.  It’s irrelevant.  All I’m going to say is that despite loving Sesame Street as a kid, the idea of reducing funding to PBS doesn’t bother me as much as it seems to be bothering so many other people.

Here is why…

I understand that people love Sesame Street because it is educational for their kids.  Do you know what else is educational for your kids?

  • Nick Jr has a lot of good shows for education.
  • Discovery KIDS
  • Baby Einstein videos
  • LeapFrog and LeapPad
  • Computer Games
  • iPad applications
  • DVD’S which can be purchased just about anywhere, including History Channel and Discovery KIDS.
  • Books.  Imagine that, no t.v. and a kid must read.
  • Conversation.  Oh no, Big Bird won’t be around to teach my kid the alphabet!  That’s a catastrophe?  Seriously?  YOU know the alphabet, right?  You can’t teach your kids the letters that come between “A” and “Z”?

 I find it annoying.  There are people upset over it because Sesame Street teaches good life lessons.  Sure, that’s true.  You know what else teaches good life lessons?  Life itself.  It also helps when a decent parent is involved in a kid’s life, recognizes those life lesson opportunities and then communicates those lesson’s to their child.  All I’m saying is, a television channel and programming should not be such a major point of contention during election time.   Television shouldn’t be such a priority.  Do you know what should be a priority?

  • Employment
  • Housing
  • Education
  • Medical Health Care
  • Mental Health Care
  • Environment

I would be upset if Mitt Romney said he was going to cut public schools and that if parent’s want a child to be educated they must pay for private schooling.  That would annoy me.  Cutting funding to a television channel?  Sorry but it doesn’t even hit my radar. 

Go here and look at Government spending.  Do you see how low on the list Mental Health Care is when compared to other health programs? 

Go here and look around at Government spending. 

Go here and take a look around. 

All I’m saying is, yeah, I love Big Bird and Elmo and Grover and Oscar the Grouch too but sometimes things need to be prioritized.  When a family is facing tough economic times, what do we do?  We look at what we can cut and what is, statistically, one of the first things to go?  Cable Television.  Doesn’t it make sense that our Government would do the same thing? 

Ok…off my soapbox.  Just a little irked, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

