Harvest Vases


I was sitting in the doctor’s office waiting room yesterday and they had a Fall Decor magazine.  Hooray!  Considering it is now October I figured it was a great way to pass the time.  The magazine had these super cute miniature, individual, pumpkin cakes on the cover but inside I saw the cutest thing!  Harvest Gourd Vases!  Now, these would be a more realistic thing for me to make if I actually ate squash because then it wouldn’t seem so wasteful but since they were so cute I figured I would share them anyway.

All you do is cut open a hole in the top of the squash.  Then, using a long handled spoon or melon baller scoop out all of the inside guts.  Go ahead and do whatever you would normally do with squash guts.  Cook them or bake them or saute them or throw them away, whatever suits you.  Then…and this is the clever awesome part…stick a small plastic cup down inside.  Fill that small plastic cup with water and then add flowers.  Beautiful!   By the time the flowers die the squash gourd will be about ready to throw away so you can toss, or compost, the whole thing together.  No fall vases to store and the tables look cute.  🙂

I took a picture of the picture in the magazine but then my phone had to go and act all stupid and my photos, ALL my photos, got deleted and since I hadn’t back the new ones up yet, well, I lost them.  I did Google the web and find other pictures of Harvest Gourd Vases and without further ado…here they are!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Harvest Vases

  1. I love neat things like this, especially for the fall season. It’s a good thing I’m in a small space with a small budget or I’d overdo the decorating for the fall season. 🙂

Leave a Reply

