It’s Hat Day!


How many times have you heard that phrase “…wear many hats…”?  It seems to be everywhere!  I hear people talk about it all of the time and to be honest, it’s kind of annoying.  The idiom “to wear many hats” means “to take on many roles” and people always use it when they are complaining about their lives and how busy they are.  We are all busy though, right?  We all wear many hats though, right?  I know I do…especially on Tuesday’s. 

Since it’s Tuesday, I’ll allow today to be an example. Today I’ll be a wife, puppy momma, employee, student, co-worker, daughter, sister, friend, and customer…among others.  Oh look! Right now I’m being a blogger.  Wow.  SO many hats!

Then I started thinking, “Where did that silly phrase come from?”  So I looked it up.  I found this theory:

I think it comes from a time (not long ago) when everyone wore hats, and many of those hats were specific to a given trade, official position or function. So someone who had several roles would have several hats and would wear the appropriate one for the occasion. […] “which hat will you be wearing?” would mean “in which capacity will you be attending?”

 and that’s possible. 

I considered looking it up on alternate sources and I thought about doing more research.  Then I thought about just listing all of the different “hats” I wear from day to day.  Then…I thought nah forget it, yo holmes to Bel Air! 

Sorry…that slipped out before I could stop myself.

Ultimately I decided to simply post a bunch of pictures of me in hats.  It was the easiest thing to do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

