Why Do I Do It?


I wanted a new desktop image for my computer at work.  For some reason when I received the new monitors I just left it on the stock image of  a windows icon. I don’t know why I did that but I did and after a few weeks it simply became boring.  I scrolled through Google images until I had amassed a giant folder of images of…what else?  Greece.  It’s my dream.

I know I’ve mentioned it on here before and I know I’ve shared pictures of this glorious dream on here before because every day when I log on to my Dashboard I’m reminded that my post, “My Dream Vacation” from March of this year is one of my top most-viewed posts.  It’s been six months though and since it’s still my dream vacation I’m treating you all to more images of my dream locale. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I don’t know why I do this to myself though.  I don’t know why I insist on setting my desktop image and my screensaver images to Greece.  I’m surrounded by images of Athens, Santorini, Mykonos, Crete and that beautiful blue Aegean Sea.  It’s a form of self-torture, I’m convinced of that.  Why do I do it?  Why do I insist on surrounding myself of pictures a place I can only dream of going?  It’s because one day it won’t be just a dream.  One day I’m going to get over there!  I’ve thought about taking an International Teaching job after I graduate and spending a summer teaching in Crete.  My husband would wonder if I’ve gone insane.  I know that’s not realistic (nor is it safe because let’s be honest, Greece isn’t exactly the most stable of locations right now) plus it would be far more relaxing and enjoyable if I could simply go as a tourist. 

Maybe what I’ll do is save my pennies (and nickels and dimes and quarters and dollars) and one day, after school is out for the summer, I’ll grab up my husband and we’ll take off for the summer.  We’ll go to Athens and to Santorini and to Mykonos and to Crete and we’ll tour the Greek Isles on a cruise ship like Odysseus and we’ll visit the site of the Oracle and we’ll check out the Temple of Poseidon and scuba dive in search of the lost city of Atlantis!  Ok, maybe not the Atlantis thing, or maybe, I don’t know.  If I’m a scuba diver by that point maybe I will consider it but as of now I’m not a diver, nor do I have any intentions of becoming one.  I do have intentions of visiting Greece.  One day…

3 thoughts on “Why Do I Do It?

  1. Greece as been a place I wanted to go to as well. My friend actually got to spend most of the summer over there a couple years ago with her grandparents. The photos and stories were fantastic. As for the interntional teaching, let your heart be guided by God. Maybe all He wants you to do is be a tourist for a few weeks. Either way, I think you’re experiences in Greece will be magnificant and I can’t wait to hear about them when they happen.

Leave a Reply

