What’s a Motto?


Nothing! What’s a motto with you???

LOL.

I know…I know…I’m sorry.  I can’t help it.  It’s an old joke that played out many, many, many years ago and thenHakuna Matata (song) was revived in the Lion King when Timon and Pumbaa were talking about Hakuna Matata. (Remember…

  • Hakuna Matata!
  • Hakuna Ma-what?
  • Hakuna Matata! It’s our Motto.
  • What’s a motto?
  • Nothing! What’s a motto with you??! Hahahahahaha

 

Ok, so back to my motto.  A few months ago I was blogging on here and got to chatting with a commentor (sorry…I can’t remember his name and I’m too lazy, despite my Venti Caramel White Mocha coffee this morning courtesy of my awesome husband, to go and look it up.  Ultimately the commenting led to a new life motto which is so fabulous I printed it up and posted it in my cubicle at work (as evidenced by the not-so-awesome-but-its-the-best-I-could-do-this-morning photo below)

Assuming that my new nameless friend (and his girlfriend) translated my motto to Latin properly (and I imagine they did their best. They seemed like real honest folks!) it reads as follows:

Some are born doofus-y

Some achieve doofus-ness

Some have doofus-ness thrust upon them.

Now,  I could have posted my “Motto For Life” in English at my desk so that everyone who walks by can read it and understand it or I could have chosen to do what I did which was to post it in the Latin translation and confuse everyone who walks by and asks about it.   I told one person, “It’s my motto. If I wanted you to read it I would have posted it in English. If you insist on reading it however I’ll give you a copy and you can translate it. I believe there are Latin to English dictionaries at the library.”  They were not amused.  I was very amused but they were not, not even a little.

So what’s a motto?  A lot of fun.  What’s a motto with you?

One thought on “What’s a Motto?

Leave a Reply

