Psalm 61


There is no doubt about it. I had a bad day yesterday and no, I don’t want to blog about it.  Let’s suffice to say that it was unpleasant and I was stressed.  At one point I felt tears and I knew they were coming no matter how hard I tried to fight them so I went into the bedroom and expected to wallow in frustration for a few minutes but then, out of the corner of my eye, I spotted my husband’s Bible sitting on his night table.  I picked it up and I opened it up to Psalm 61 where I began to read…

Hear my cry, O God;
    listen to my prayer.

From the ends of the earth I call to you,
    I call as my heart grows faint;
    lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For you have been my refuge,
    a strong tower against the foe.

I long to dwell in your tent forever
    and take refuge in the shelter of your wings. 
For you, God, have heard my vows;
    you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

Increase the days of the king’s life,
    his years for many generations. 
May he be enthroned in God’s presence forever;
    appoint your love and faithfulness to protect him.

Then I will ever sing in praise of your name
    and fulfill my vows day after day.

and I actually began to feel a comfort I haven’t felt in a long time.  I started to feel that somehow, and I didn’t know how, but somehow it was all going to be ok.  Instead of crying, I prayed.  I prayed in a way I haven’t prayed in years.  I was focused and committed and praying.  I admitted I was scared and worried and panicked and embarrassed.  I admitted that I didn’t know what to do and I needed His help.  Somewhere in the back of my mind I heard 1 Corinthians 13:13 “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”  and I was comforted again.  I started thinking about the gifts of love that God has given to me in His son, Jesus, and my husband, Brandon.  I have been very blessed by a Lord who sent His son to die for me, to give me everlasting life and a home in Heaven after my time on earth has passed and my Lord has also given me a loving faithful husband to be my friend, lover, and companion.  I am blessed beyond belief in love but God also wants me to be full of faith and hope.  It wasn’t easy but I gave my worries away and I told God, “I don’t know how you are going to take care of this and I won’t lie and say I’m not worried but I’ll trust in you and I’ll have faith in you and I’ll just hope that somehow, in your way, it will all be ok.”

Today…it all became ok.  One by one phone calls were made and meetings were held and everything was fixed little by little.  Now I’m sitting here, breathing easy, relaxed, comforted and feeling secure that everything is going to be ok. 

Leave a Reply

