Ride Ride Ride


Let me preface this post (before I offend anyone) by saying that it was very sad news that Sally Ride passed away.  She was an inspiration to women.  She broke barriers.  She was the first woman to ever travel into space.  (08-02-2012 Ok…so that’s not true.  My Earth/Space science professor would be so ashamed of me.  Thanks to ThoughtfulSpirituality for pointing out my oops!  Sally Ride was the first AMERICAN woman to ever travel into space.  She was the second woman overall.)  She was remarkable.  The world needs more brave and inspiring people like her. 

RIP Sally Ride.  I’ll make sure, once I have my own classroom, to teach my students about you and your ground-breaking adventure into outer space.

Now…that all being said…

Am I the only one that hears, “Ride Sally Ride!” and thinks of a camel?

I blame Barney, the big purple dinosaur.   My little sister was obsessed with Barney and Friends when she was a little kid.  I swear, I think her dream in life was to grow up and be Baby Bop.  Barney and Friends was on the television at home all the time and a frequent song on there about Sally.

“Sally the Camel has…three humps! Sally the Camel has…three humps! Sally the Camel has…three humps! So Ride Sally Ride!”

Then there was that sound effect “boom boom boom boom” as the kids, who were dancing around under a sheet and whose heads made the camel “humps” would jump around until one disappeared.

Then the song would continue…

“Sally the Camel has…two humps! Sally the Camel has…two humps! Sally the Camel has…two humps! So Ride Sally Ride!”

And that sound effect again. And kids under a sheet would jump around. Then a hump would disappear. (Are you seeing the trend here?) Then Barney and Friends would sing again. I swear, I think every Barney and Friends viewer was excellent at counting down from 3 to 0!

“Sally the Camel has…one hump! Sally the Camel has…one hump! Sally the Camel has…one hump! So Ride Sally Ride!”

Did you notice the english language lesson in that verse? Sally no longer has “humps” now she has a single “hump.” Language Lesson alert!  Plural form vs singluar form.  Wow. Barney was quite educational. Now we know that camels can have three humps, two humps, or one hump.  We also know that hump is singular and humps is plural. Amazing.

But then…then we had to have the twist. The big reveal! The  big…OMG…I didn’t see that coming!!! moment.

“Sally the Camel has…no humps! Sally the Camel has…no humps! Sally the Camel has…no humps! ‘Cause Sally is a HORSE!”

OMG! A camel with no humps is a horse? Sure it is…because…you know…a camel with no humps look EXACTLY like this…

Whatever Barney.

And poor Sally Ride.  I’m sure that there was an entire generation of people who heard “Ride Sally Ride” when it was announced that Sally had died and thought of a camel.  Or a horse.  Either way, they weren’t thinking of an astronaut and the first woman into space.  It’s crazy.

2 thoughts on “Ride Ride Ride

  1. Lilee, you are right that Sally Ride was a remarkable woman, however it is not true that “She was the first woman to ever travel into space” That was Valentina Tereshkova of the old Soviet Union. Sally was, I believe, the second woman in space and the first American woman.

    • Eep! You are right. I can’t believe I did that and I was even reading the article as I was typing. My Earth/Space science professor would be so ashamed of me. :-/

Leave a Reply

