Somewhere Out There


I wake up just about every morning with a song lyric stuck in my head. It’s never the whole song it’s always just one or two lines that will repeat themselves constantly until my mind is thoroughly distracted enough at work for them to fade away in to oblivion.

It’s usually either an old show tune (I’m singing in the rain…just singing in the rain…)

or a classic rock song (I’m learning to fly…but I ain’t got wings) or (I see…a bad moon rising. I see…trouble on the way. Don’t go out tonight…)

or a song from my childhood (Run Otis run run as fast as you can go…gotta get back to the Cabbage Patch and tell ’em what you know…how Cabbage Jack put the girls in a sack and tho you were afraid…you did not fail to follow the trail to Lavender McDade.

or an old country song that makes me think of my Dad (You got to know when to fold ’em…know when to hold ’em…know when to walk away…and know when to run…you never count your money when you’re sitting at the table they’ll be time enough for counting when the dealing’s done.)

or an old song my Grandpa used to sing to me when I was a little girl (Way down south in the Bowling Green…bullfrog went riding on a sewing machine…sewing machine got to going too fast…and the bullfrog got nine stitches in his…leg.)

or it’s a soundtrack song for no good reason whatsoever “He had it coming! He had it coming! He only had himself to blame. If you’d have been there. If you’d have seen it. I betcha you would have done the same.”

or a favorite Disney song, “Oh I just can’t wait to be King!”

or a silly song that makes me think of my Grandma “Why’d you come in here looking like that with a cowboy hat and your painted-on jeans? All dressed up like a cowgirl’s dream?”

But today? Today it was a song I didn’t even recognize.  The lyric was,

“There’s a pretty girl somewhere…with a pretty name.”

Why? I don’t know. I didn’t even know the song. I had to Google it. Do you know it?

It’s Evans Blue “A Cross and a Girl Named Blessed” and I recognized as a being a song that is somewhere in my iTunes even though I don’t really know anything about them. I guess it must have played on random the other day and seeped its way into my subconscious. Now I can’t get it out of my head. It’s there and it seems that, for today at least, it’s there to stay.

Leave a Reply

