Lists! They Make Me Happy


My Year in Lists

 Making lists makes me happy.  At least…making grocery lists makes me happy.  I don’t know why they do…they just do. 

I could spend hours researching recipes and making a grocery list just to turn around and scrap few recipes, add new ones, change the list, and then reflect and review.  Then I flip through my coupons and figure out what matches my list.  Then I realize I should have started with the coupons and build my list around them.  Then I throw the whole list away and start all over again from the beginning.  I do this regularly.  It’s just what I do.   I get so excited sometimes.  I imagine I’m not the only one that feels that way.  I can’t be, right? 

For example – this morning I was reviewing the current weekly ad for Publix (I know it came out yesterday. I’m late. Shut up.) and I got so excited! There a few things on there that I eat (and drink) daily.  Plus…dog treats are BOGO and I have a coupon for $1 off the purchase of 2 of them so I can actually get two for $1 off the price of one. Yeah…that’s a deal.

**Side Note** Dog treats. Wow. It feels awesome to be able to say (or type) that word. The “T” word. I can’t say it at home because if I do our dog will come running even from the other room and run around in circles with his crazy tongue lolling out of his mouth like some crazed psychopath. He will get SO excited! It’s like he’s never had a treat before. It’s like OMG! OMG! OMG! OOOO MMMMM GGGGGG! Treats! Hell yeah! I’m getting a treat! Treat! Treat! Treat! Treat! Treat! Treat for meeeeeeee! Yes! I love treats! They are soooooooo goooooooood! Treat! Treat! Treat! I want a tTreat! You said it! You can’t take it back now. I heard it! My big ears heard that beautiful word. Give me my treat!”

God forbid I say something like: “I wish we had something sweet to eat.”

 or “That’s neat.”

or ask my husband, “When’s the last time we washed the sheets?”

or busted out a little “Rockin’ Robin” while I’m singing, dancing and cleaning around the house.  My little pup hears :

“He rocks in the tree tops all day long – Hoppin’ and a-boppin’ and singing his song – All the little birdies on Jaybird Street – Love to hear the robin go tweet tweet tweet

Rockin’ robin, tweet tweet tweet – Rockin’ robin’ tweet tweetly-tweet – Blow rockin’ robin – ‘Cause we’re really gonna rock tonight

Every little swallow, every chick-a-dee – Every little bird in the tall oak tree – The wise old owl, the big black crow
Flappin’ their wings singing go bird go

Rockin’ robin, tweet tweet tweet – Rockin’ robin’ tweet tweetly-tweet – Blow rockin’ robin – ‘Cause we’re really gonna rock tonight”

All he hears is “treat treat treat – Rockin robin treat treatly treat” and he gets excited, then confused, wondering who this Rockin Robin is and why he’s getting all the treats. It’s a horrible situation and I need to remember to stop singing that song. It’s just SO catchy! Oh well.

So back to my lists. I have one for tonight and I need to go to the store. I need groceries and I have a few really great steals to scoop up!  Especially some treats. It’s going to be a good night for the pup tonight.  Tweet-Treat-Tweet!

2 thoughts on “Lists! They Make Me Happy

  1. I’m with you on the list and with your dog on the treats … although I don’t do the tongue lolling just my insides skip when I know I am going to get one

    • I admit…sometimes I sing Rockin Robin just to watch him get excited and see that tongue loll out the side of his mouth. I always give him a treat though. I’m not a sadist.

Leave a Reply

