The Best Company


I stumbled on this quote this morning: 

“The older I get, the less time I want to spend with the part of the human race that didn’t marry me.” – Robert Brault

Oh…how true that is!  It’s not that I don’t like people because I do.  I like people a lot.  It’s just that my most favorite person is my husband and if I have to spend time with anyone I want to spend time with him.  Today I have to work until 5pm and then I have to drive an hour away to attend the graduation of my cousin who, let’s be honest, probably doesn’t really care if I’m there or not.  I remember at my graduation I was so focused on my friends and my parents that I didn’t know who was there and to this day I don’t remember who all came.  It didn’t matter because I was too hung up on the parties going on that weekend.  I’m sure my cousin is feeling the same way. 

Esssentially though what I’m saying is that I left my house this morning at about 7:30am and I won’t be home until about 11:00pm (I’m guessing) so that’s a whole…what…15 1/2 hours?  OMG…that’s awful! Just awful.  I feel suffocated at the idea of being away from my husband for that long.  He’s just the best company in the world and there’s no one else I would rather be around. He’s my best friend. He’s hilarious and quirky and good-natured and compassionate and caring and sensitive and sweet and loving and intelligent and interesting and sexy…oh so sexy! No matter how my mood is that day he’s the perfect company. If I’m sick and crabby, he’s kind and sweet and caring.  If I’m feeling silly and boisterous, he’s good-natured and quirky right back.  If I’m pensive and thoughtful, he’s intelligent and interesting.  It’s a perfect match for all seasons.  If I feel like a movie night in or a dinner night out or a walk in the park or cuddles on the couch, he’s all in.  In all situations there is no one in the world I’d rather spend time with than my husband. 

He’s perfect. Life with him is perfect. Robert Brault was right when he said it…”The older I get, the less time I want to spend with the part of the human race that didn’t marry me.”  Damn straight!

One thought on “The Best Company

  1. Pingback: Right On The Money | Heroes 'N Pirates

Leave a Reply

