So Sweet


Yesterday evening when I first got home from work I went in to the bedroom and laid down with my husband. It had been a no-so-pleasant afternoon at work and I wanted a little bit of cuddling before we had dinner and started our evening. As I laid there all cuddled up in his arms with my head on his shoulder he said, “I had a dream last night that we had a baby.”

My initial reaction was a big bashful smile I tried to fight and a rapid fluttering in my heart. A baby?! šŸ˜€

How sweet! To hear my husband sayĀ he had a dream about us having a baby! He went on to say he couldn’t remember any of the details but he remembered it was a good feeling. Then he hugged me close and I thought about asking THE question. You know, the, “What do you think about us having a baby?” question but it was such a quiet, comfortable and sweet moment between us I decided not to say anything. I just sighed and cuddled and enjoyed my happy life.

It made me feel good to know I’m not the only one with a baby on the brain. I’m sure that my husband doesn’t think about it quite as frequently as I do but it made me feel good to know I’m not alone on the whole “wanting to start a family” thing.Ā  Later in the evening yesterday I overheard my husband having a conversation with someone and he kept saying things like, “I just don’t know that I want my children doing that” and “I have to think about what would be best for my children” and it made me smile.

I love thinking about making my husband a Dad. I know he will be such a great father. I love thinking about him on the couch with his little girl on his lap watching “The Little Mermaid” for the 100th timeĀ or thinking about himĀ building Hot Wheels roads and racing cars with his son or thinking about taking our baby in to the ocean for the first time or a first baseball or basketball or football or hockey game or thinking about reading bedtime stories or … or … or … my mind just fills up so quickly with all of these beautiful memories I want to make with my husband and our children. I know our children are going to be blessed with such an amazing, loving and supportive father and it makes me happy to know that he dreams about them too.

Leave a Reply

