Aww! Oily Head


Dang it!

You see, I’ve been on a continual hunt for ages (more like 10 years but ages sounds more dramatic) for a good dry shampoo. I have long dark hair which takes forever to dry properly and then I have to style it and to do it all right it takes over half an hour, at least it does if I want it to look nice. If I just want it down and straight I can do it in 20 minutes but it’s flat. Ugh.  The worst of it though is the overnight oil! Omg…the grease and oil that builds up on my head overnight is horrid. I’ve tried it all. I sleep in a cool room so I’m not sweating. I’ve slept on satin pillowcases, silk pillowcases, cotton pillowcases, hell I’ve even tried flannel pillowcases. I’ve never heard of flannel being helpful but nothing else worked so I thought WTH? It can’t hurt, right? Right. It didn’t hurt. It didn’t help either.

So what’s a girl to do?

Try dry shampoo! So I have. I’ve tried quite a few of them and they don’t work. I finally gave up and have just settled on having to get up early enough to wash and dry and style my hair every single morning. Recently though the heat damage has become too much for my poor hair. The ends are splitting and I can notice little signs of heat damage (yes, I use a heat protector) and the daily heat treatment is simply becoming too much for my poor strands to bear. Yesterday I went back on the dry shampoo hunt and I noticed one on the shelf I hadn’t tried yet. Tresemme’s Fresh Start Dry Shampoo for oily hair. Hooray!

I’m hoping it works. I was going to use this morning before coming to work and then thought better of it. I decided I wanted to start Monday morning off freshly shampooed and conditioned and I’ll try the dry shampoo thing (again) tomorrow. I was feeling pretty optimstic about it until I went to Tresemme’s website and read the horrible reviews. 😦  A 2.9 rating out of 5.0? It’s not as good as I had expected (or hoped) but it’s not the worst either. The thing that scared me the most was people saying that it made their hair even oilier! That would be a nightmare for an oily head like me. I read independent beauty blogs though and a lot of those people liked it. It appears I’ll just have to try it for myself. I just wish I could find a good one.  A really good one. That actually works, especially on oily heads like me.

***UPDATE*** This stuff is crap.  04-24-12

2 thoughts on “Aww! Oily Head

  1. Have you tried Nak dry klean dry shampoo? My hair gets pretty oily too and i spray this on after my run in the morning and it gets rid of the oil for me, especially for my bangs when i want them down and to look oily free.

    • Oooh no I haven’t tried that one! I’ll add it to my list and I’ll check it out if this Tresemme doesn’t work. From the reviews I’ve read about it it’s not looking good for the big T. Nak dry klean huh? I’ll try to find it.

Leave a Reply

