Oh, Now I Get It


On my drive to work this morning I had the radio flipped on to the one station with a signal strong enough to make it through the dense fog.  The promised to play “Today’s Greatest Hits” so I thought…ok…bring it on!  They lied though because immediately I heard

“Girl, you’re my angel, you’re my darling angel
Closer than my peeps you are to me, baby
Shorty, you’re my angel, you’re my darling angel
Girl, you’re my friend when I’m in need, lady

Life is one big party when you’re still young
But who’s gonna have your back when it’s all done
It’s all good when you’re little, you have pure fun
Can’t be a fool, son, what about the long run?

Looking back Shorty always mention
Said me not giving her much attention
She was there through my incarceration
I wanna show the nation my appreciation”

What?!? Lol.  Shaggy’s “Angel” is not part of “Today’s Greatest Hits.”  There’s no way.  I don’t believe it.  I simply don’t.  That song has to be at least what? 10 years old? At least. I couldn’t figure it out. WHY would the radio be playing Shaggy? Then it hit me…the answer is in those first two lines… “Girl, you’re my angel, you’re my darling angel – Closer than my peeps you are to me, baby”  Did you catch it? Do you see?

It was the Peeps!  “Closer than my peeps you are to me, baby” Those sweet fluffly marshmallow-y Easter treats! I don’t think anyone has ever included them in a song before. Way to go Shaggy for remembering those adorable peeps! I’ve gotta say, too, that “darling” and “shorty” must be one pretty amazing woman if she’s closer to him than his Peeps. Some people would cut you over a Peep! After all, they only come around at Easter.

Good job “Today’s Greatest Hits” radio for recognizing Shaggy’s contribution to the Easter celebration!

5 thoughts on “Oh, Now I Get It

    • Oh yes! It is definitely a happier place with Peeps. Imagine…a big basket full of pink Easter Peeps. There is simply no sight more beautiful (or delicious!)

Leave a Reply

