It’s 8am


It’s 8am and so begins another work week.  This morning when I sat down at my desk at work I found myself thinking about a question a friend of mine asked me last Friday.  She said to me, “So, you’re going to teach are you? I remember you saying that same thing 10 years ago. You changed your mind then, what made you change it back?”  My answer is this…

I can’t spend the rest of my life staring at spreadsheets.

I suppose it’s probably not really that simple but when I break it down to its simplest form that is what comes to my mind.  I’ve always wanted to teach.  I’ve wanted to teach every since I was a little girl.  It’s why my book reports in Elementary School were always 30 minutes long and it’s why my presentations in Middle School always took up the entire class period and it’s why, in High School, I was in theatre and on the debate team and on Model United Nations and why I always volunteered to give presentations and it’s why, at work, I lead our training program and lead instructional courses on our new policies, procedures and software.  I love being in front of a group of people, I love teaching new things, and I love public speaking.  I just do.  I always have.  I’ve always wanted to teach and I’ve always known it but when I told my family and friends about that desire 10 years ago all I heard in response to my admission was, “Oh no! You need something more challenging!” or “They don’t make enough money.  You can do better!” or “You just aren’t cut out for that.  Don’t settle.  You can do greater things.”  I wish I had the courage then to say, “This is my life. This is what I want. This is what I’m going to do.” but I wasn’t strong enough to say that and so I gave up teaching in favor of the politically back-stabbing world of Business and Finance. 

Essentially…I gave up this…

For this…

And I gave up this…

For this…

and I seriously regret it. 

I will not spend the rest of my life entering and balancing spreadsheets.  I’m doing what I want and what I want is to teach.

Leave a Reply

