How To Use A Sock


I was stumbling through the internet on StumbleUpon (one of my addictions!) and I stumbled upon (did you see what I just did there) this cool link…

How To Use A Sock To Get Beautiful Curly Hair Without Heat | A Spotted Pony.

Yes, you read that  correctly.  How to use a SOCK to get curly hair.  I was intrigued.  A sock?  No heat?  Curls?  From my pin-straight hair?  I had to try it.  I had to know!  Does it really work?

So I got up and I got in the shower and rinsed my already day-old dirty hair.  I didn’t want to wash it because I was afraid it would be too clean to curl (my hair will do that sometimes, it has to be semi-dirty to curl properly) and I let it air dry until it was just a little damp.  I pulled it up on the top of my head in a high ponytail the way the article says to do, I slipped a roll-up sock with the toe cut off over my ponytail and I rolled it back up with my hair around it.  Now I’m just sitting here, on my computer, watching March Madness basketball with a sock in my hair.

We will see if my hair really looks like this when I’m done…

Yes indeed…we will see!  I’ll admit it, I’m very skeptical. I have such a hard time believing that my hair could look that awesome just by using a dress sock with the toe cut off but who knows, maybe it really does.  Maybe all this time I’ve been putting socks on my feet when they really belonged in my hair.  I just don’t know.  I know that the article I read said to sleep in the sock overnight but I’m not able to do that right now because it’s Sunday night.  That means I would be trying it on a day when I have work in the morning and if it turned out absolutely horrible I would have a bad-hair day ahead and I’m just not willing to risk it.  Instead, I put the sock in my hair at about 2pm and I’m going to take it out at about 10pm (8 full hours) and see how it looks. If it looks like it should (or at least if  I can see how it would have turned out better if I left it in longer) then I’ll do it again tomorrow night, sleep in it, and try it for Tuesday at work.  I’m anxious…I’ll update later and let you know if it turned out or not.

***UPDATE*** – So, no it did not work.  I left it in for over 8 hours but when I took it out my hair was just a frizzy (and still damp) mess.  Maybe I didn’t roll the sock correctly?  Maybe my hair was too damp when I rolled it up?  I don’t know what I did wrong but it didn’t work.  I’ll try it again another night but attempt #1 = total fail.

2 thoughts on “How To Use A Sock

  1. I’ve never tried this before…but then again I have naturally curly hair that is more difficult to straighten than anything else. Try again, maybe it’ll work the second time around. Sometimes the humidity can screw stuff up too. (:

Leave a Reply

