Wise Words


I can’t help it. I’m in love with quotes. It just always seems like there are other people who have already said what I want to say and who usually are able to say it more eloquently so I just steal their words. When I steal their words not only is my point made but it’s made beautifully so without further ado here are two of my favorite quotes:

“Keep away from small people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.” – Mark Twain

“People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they’re not on your road doesn’t mean they’ve gotten lost.” – H. Jackson Browne

So there you have it, some very wise words of advice and the point is simple…f*%k those who don’t encourage you to chase your own dreams, fulfill your own desires and become the person you want (and were most likely meant) to be. As H. Jackson Browne said, people take their own roads so while someone’s advice may be well-intentioned it is more often than not unnecessary. I don’t need someone else telling me why I shouldn’t pursue the career that I want to pursue. I let a few people do that to me 11 years ago and that’s why I am now in a job I don’t love, building a career I don’t want and back in school to finally pursue the dream I have always had. There comes a point where the people in my life either have to accept the choices I have made and the dreams that I have or they can choose to no longer be a part of my life. That is it. There are two choices: Support Me or Goodbye. I simply do not need anyone in my life who is going to bring me down. Everyone’s priorities in life are different, some people put their priorities on money, or security, or experiences, or love, or adventure. The point is that everyone’s lives are different, everyone is on their own road and everyone is heading toward their own destination and just because someone is not taking the same road that you chose doesn’t mean they are on the wrong one or heading toward the wrong place. The people that are worth having in your life will understand that and support you as you live your own journey and those are the people I need to find.

Leave a Reply

