Observation in the Wild


Next Wednesday is my second school observation session and I’m really excited about this one because I’ll be observing in Middle School! 🙂  I guess my title is perhaps a little misleading but then again if I remember correctly (and I’m fairly certain I do) Middle School is very similar to the “wild.”

I completed my first set of required observation hours earlier this month and it was ok. I observed a 5th grade class and although I did enjoy myself I don’t feel, at this time, that primary education (K – 6th) is for me. I know with 100% certainty that I could never teach K-3rd. The youngest I would feel comfortable teaching would be 4th grade and I’m very comfortable with 6th grade while 5th grade kind of just falls into the middle zone.  I feel like my love is with older kids but I know 11th and 12th grade intimidates me. Why? I don’t know. Maybe it’s because high school wasn’t a pleasant time for me and I still harbor those negative feelings. I think the older I get the more comfortable I’ll be with older kids. Regardless, I’m leaning toward teaching secondary education (6th – 12th) as my future profession of choice.

So like I said, I’m looking forward to next week’s observation. I requested 7th graders because I want to see the low level secondary grade. In a few weeks I’ll be observing high school and then I can make my decision regarding primary vs secondary education. I just feel a tugging toward middle school. I like it. I enjoyed it. I love that the kids aren’t fully teenagers but aren’t little kids either. I enjoy that time of early adolescence where everything is going crazy. I enjoy helping kids try to learn who they are and how they fit in to the world. I love those years of young identity crises and raging hormones and new experiences. I love middle school kids. I’m very excited for 7th grade observation. I have a feeling I will be wanting to spend forever in that classroom once I get there.

Leave a Reply

