Find Your Rhythm


I’m going to let you in on a little pet peeve of mine. I get highly annoyed by people with no rhythm!

Now I don’t mean people with no musical rhythm. I can understand people who can’t catch a beat, I’m one of them. You know when you’re in a crowd and everyone is clapping in rhythm and there is that one person who is always “off” just a little bit? Yep. That’s me. Or that person who loves to go to parties and hang out and mingle and be awesome but doesn’t really dance because their pure lack of rhythm is embarrassing? Yep. That’s me too. I can understand that, it happens and I am not annoyed by those people. I am annoyed by people with no numerical rhythm.

I can’t help it…I cringe inside everytime someone speaks numbers out of rhythm.

“What do you mean? What’s numerical rhythm?”

I’ll explain…

If someone asks you for your telephone number you answer like this, 8-0-0 , 5-5-5 , 1-2-3-4 don’t you? If you numerical rhythm you do. You tell someone a 3-digit area code then a 3-digit prefix followed by a 4-digit suffix. You do it because the (   ) of the area code separates it from the phone number and the – separates the prefix from the suffix. It’s how it is done and people say their telephone number in that rhythm from the time they learn their telephone number. It’s the proper rhythm of a phone number! It is a major pet peeve of mine and it highly annoys me when I ask, “May I have your telephone number please?” and in response I hear, “8-0 , 0-5 , 5-5-1-2-3 , 4.” It never fails to get a WTF?! reaction out of me. I have to write (or type) it down without the (   ) or the –  and then separate them to make sure I have enough numbers. Basically it goes like this…

“May I have your telephone number please?”

“Yes. It is 8-0 , 0-5 , 5-5-1-2-3 , 4.”

Then I write (or type) 8 0 0 5 5 5 1 2 3 4

Then I go back and add the (  )  and the – to make the number look like this (800) 555-1234.

Then I get the DING! It’s a phone number moment and I’m able to continue on with whatever it is I’m trying to do. If that person had numerical rhythm it would have gone like this…

“May I have your telephone number please?”

“Yes. It is 8-0-0 , 5-5-5 , 1-2-3-4

Then I would have written (800) 555-1234

Then I get the DING! It’s a phone number moment and I’m able to continue on with whatever it is I’m trying to do. See? It saves a whole step and I don’t get annoyed. Everyone wins. 😀

People do it all the time and it’s frustrating. I can ask for a social security number and everyone knows your social security number looks like this 111-22-3333 (I made that number up. Don’t try to go all identity theif on me or something now. Ok? It’s fake. It won’t get you anyone’s identity. I don’t think.) so why would someone give you their social security number in this rhythm… 1 , 1-1 , 2 , 2-3-3 , 3 , 3 ?  WTF?!? Just say it right. 1-1-1 , 2-2 , 3-3-3-3 

It’s easy. I promise.

 

Leave a Reply

