Music


The other day my husband and I were talking about music. He’s more hip-hop, rap, electro and e-hop while I’m more rock, punk and alternative. It’s ok though, it jives. (Yes…I said jives. Whatever…) I was scrolling through my iTunes playing him snippets of a song here and there and there when I realized I had committed a terrible musical injustice. I was sorely lacking in 80’s rock! WTH? How is that even possible? I hung my head in shame. I deserved it. I begged him to please get me 80’s rock. My musical library was in desperate need of it.

My loving husband happily obliged and yesterday as I was getting ready for the day I had my phone playing Modest Mouse’s “3rd Planet” and I was kind of spaced out playing with my make-up and trying out my new brushes when all of a sudden … coming from the little speaker of my phone I heard …

“Jenny, Jenny, who can I turn to? / You give me something I can hold on to / I know you think I’m like the others before / who saw your name and number on the wall”

Hell – freakin – yeah! I had to sing along. You can’t avoid it and don’t even try to lie and say you can because I know you can’t. No one can hear that song and not sing along. Even now you know it’s in your head so go ahead … let it out …

“Oh Jenny I got your number! / I need to make you mine! / Jenny, don’t change your number / 8-6-7-5-3-0-9 (8-6-7-5-3-0-9) / 8-6-7-5-3-0-9 (8-6-7-5-3-0-9)”

Yeah, it was a great morning! That put me in such a cheerful mood that I then had to shuffle on over to play only songs from 1980-1989 and I was blessed with the awesomeness of…

Blondie – Call Me  /  Gary Numan – Cars  /  A Flock of Seagulls – I Ran  /  John Cougar Mellencamp – Jack & Diane  /  Michael Jackson – Billie Jean  /  Styx – Mr. Roboto  /  Cameo – Word Up!

Don’t you dare try to hate on any of it either.  Yeah, it’s full of cheese but that’s what the 80’s were and you know what? They are damn proud of it! Come on now … sing along with me …

” I walked along the avenue / I never thought I’d meet a girl like you (meet a girl like you) / With auburn hair and tawny eyes / the kind of eyes that hypnotize me through (hypnotize me through)

And I ran / I ran so far away / I just ran / I ran all night and day / I couldn’t get away

Leave a Reply

