Black Friday Nonsense


It’s bad enough that Black Friday has become such an overwhelming and annoying holiday tradition. I’m not one of those shoppers (and I never will be) who is willing to be lined up outside of a store at 5am waiting for the doors to open so I can rush the sales and save some money. I’d rather save my sanity and shop on a regular day during normal hours and not risk having my life taken because I was trampled by crazed shoppers like these…

Anyway, I don’t like Black Friday. I think it’s ridiculous. I think the 5am opening hours and the crazed people and the whole hoopla is absolutely insane but do you know what I think is even more insane? The current trend this year of retailers opening even earlier than before and opening on Thanksgiving Day! That’s bullshit. Retail workers already take so much shit (crappy hours, late nights, weekends, holidays, rude  customers, low wages, etc…) and all the only days they knew they had off were Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day but now they have to work on Thanksgiving Day too? Why? Corporate greed…that’s why. It’s the almighty dollar. The priorities of some people (and some corporations) are so out of sync and need to be re-aligned. People come first. Well, the good Lord comes first but people come second and these corporations are killing the spirit of Thanksgiving by chasing profit. Instead of opening their doors even earlier in an attempt to make more money they should be showing their gratitude to their employees for working so hard for them all year long by allowing them a full day off to celebrate a national holiday with their friends and family.

Target is planning on opening at midnight on Thanksgiving night and employees are required to report to work at 11pm. A Target employee started a petition on change.org and you can read about it and sign it here… Tell Target to Save Thanksgiving.

Best Buy is planning on opening at midnight on Thanksgiving night (in most locations) and employees are required to report to work earlier that evening. A Best Buy employee started a petition on change.org and you can read about it and sign it here… Push Back the Black Friday Opening of Best Buy.

Toys R Us is planning on opening at 9pm on Thanksgiving night. There are multiple petitions on change.org for this one. You can sign this one Tell Toys R Us to Save Thanksgiving and this one Toys R Us: Push Back the Black Friday Opening Time.

I signed them all. People should have national holidays off.

 

2 thoughts on “Black Friday Nonsense

  1. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Many thanks

    • Hmm…a comment that WordPress marked as “spam.” Well, I overrode WordPress and un-spammed it (un-spammed…is that a word? I don’t think so but I’m using it anyway). At the risk of replying to a spammer…here’s my reply. Blogs are cool. I have three of them, I ramble nonsense on here, I have one where I talk about the books I’ve read and I have a third one where I talk about old letters and history I’ve found. I like having blogs, they make me happy. It’s not difficult to set up a blog. If you register with WordPress they set you up with your beginning layout and then you can customize and tweak it if you want to or leave it alone if you like the way it looks. I left it the way it was for the first two months or so of my first blog. If you have a specific idea for a blog (photoblogging, music reviews, movie reviews, politics, religion, etc…) you will want to focus your posts around that and build a reputation for a specific idea. Otherwise you can be like mine and just have random nonsense. It doesn’t really matter, it’s your blog so do what you want. Also, WordPress will post “inspiration topics” on your home page to help you get over writer’s block. So there you have it potential possible spammer…and good luck and happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

