Summer Cleanin’


I never get to my “spring cleaning” in the springtime. It always happens in the summertime. Yep…every year. So, stay with me now, spring cleaning becomes summer cleaning and then…in my head…suddenly…it starts…

Summer cleanin’ had me a blast

Summer cleanin’ happened so fast

I met a girl, crazy for me

I met a boy, ready to clean

Summer days…driftin away to uh-oh those summer nights!

Uh well-a well-a well-a huh

Tell me more, Tell me more,

Did you get very far (Oh yeah…the bedrooms, closets, kitchen, even the linen and hall closets!)

Tell me more, Tell me more,

Like does he have a car? (Yes…but we did NOT clean the car! The house was enough for one weekend.)

Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Uh-huh, Uh-huh

She cleaned by me, she got a cramp

He mopped by me, got my shirt damp

I saved her life, she nearly drowned (Drowned? Really? During summer cleanin’? What did I fall in the bucket of mop water? Plunge my face in to the toilet water? Fall asleep in the bathtub? This lyric makes NO sense! Two can play at the bad lyric game though…)

He showed off, splashin around (see? I told you! Bad lyric #2. If I’m drowning in gross toilet water he’s splashing around in the mop bucket!)

Summer sun, something’s begun, but uh-oh those summer nights (Yeah, something’s begun all right! It’s summer cleanin folks! Goodwill donations here we come…I’ve got clothes and shoes and handbags and jewelry…all for you.)

Uh well-a well-a well-a huh

Tell me more, Tell me more

Was it love at first sight (With what??? The mop? The broom? The dust rags? The furniture polish? The vacuum cleaner? The cob webs from the corners of the ceiling? No, I can pretty solidly say it was NOT love at first sight!)

Tell me more, Tell me more

Did she put up a fight (Well, if you are referring to the dust particles, the dog hair and the cobwebs as she’s then yes, she must surely did. I, however, won the fight. Every time.)

….

And so it goes…I start singing “Summer Cleaning…” and the next thing I know I’m dancing around to the tune in my head and get all amped up for my cleaning project until I come down off my stage and back to reality and realize I’m surrounded by piles of clothes, one DONATE pile, one KEEP pile, one STORAGE pile, one WTF??? pile. Oh, come on, admit it, EVERYONE has a WTF??? pile of clothes. It’s either clothes that were once trendy and cool but now you can’t believe you ever wore yet somehow can’t get rid of or it’s the class t-shirt from the 5th grade that you just can’t bear to throw away or it’s your jeans from senior year of high school that you still fit in to even though they are so hideously “of-the-moment trendy” that you won’t ever wear them again. Then I have toilet bowl cleaner in the toilet water, a bathtub full of some soapy concoction I’m hoping will erode the hard water stain, a dishwasher full of dirty, and some “not so much dirty as just dusty and unused who could use a good rinse” dishes. There were hundreds and hundreds (and by hundreds and hundreds I mean nearly one thousand) vinyl records scattered all over the living room floor as we desperately tried to organize them in to “keepers” and “sellers” before listing them on CraigsList to free up some closet storage space. Oh my…is cleaning never done? I exaggerate, of course it’s done, it was done that evening and my home is once again spic and span.

By the way, someone explain to me why we are supposed to clean in the spring and the fall? Spring and Fall are the most beautiful times of year! Outside the weather is always crisp and gorgeous. The fresh green colors of the world are either just coming back or just fading away and it’s awesome! I’d much rather clean during the summer or the winter when it’s either too hot or too cold to go outside and really enjoy myself.

Summer cleanin’…had me a blast!

2 thoughts on “Summer Cleanin’

Leave a Reply

