Moose (Oops, I mean…Mousse) Face


Please, somebody tell me I’m not the only woman that struggles with finding a good foundation. I’ve tried and tried and tried and tried and nothing. It seems like I’ve changed foundations every 3 months for the last 10 years and I just can’t find anything I love. I’ve tried everything, I mean it, I really have. I’ve tried…

  • Liquid foundation
  • Powder foundation
  • Liquid to powder foundation
  • Mousse foundation
  • Skip the foundation…tinted moisturizer and powder

Anyway, I don’t feel like listing everything I’ve tried. It’s early, I’m tired and I just don’t feel like thinking over the last 10 years of make-up misery for the sake of a blog.

Sorry.

Let me also say I’ve tried just about every single make-up company I could find in order to find something that worked. I’ve tried…

  • Clinique
  • Estee Lauder
  • Merle Norman
  • Cover Girl
  • Revlon
  • Maybelline
  • E.L.F.
  • Bare Mineral
  • Mary Kay

Ok…but like I said I’m not in the list making mood but those are the ones that came to mind quickly but rest assured, if it can be found on a shelf or online I’ve tried it. If any make-up guru on YouTube mentioned it, I tried it.

  • Neutrogena
  • MAC Cosmetics
  • Avon

See? I’ve tried them all! I know there are more, I just can’t think of them all.

Regardless, I digress, my point is no matter what I do my face is oily and shiny and there seems to be nothing I can do about it. I cleanse and moisturize and use the creams I’m told to use and I use face primer in the morning before I put my make-up on (yes folks…oil control) but you know, no matter what I try or what I do, nothing works. I end up shiny every single day and have to use those little oil control blotter sheets to control the glow and no, it’s not a “healthy glow” it’s a “OMG…look at the shiny oily wildebeast!” sort of glow.

I had all but given up. Until…

I was in Wal-Mart with my husband picking up a few grocery items and I decided to run in to the cosmetics aisle real quick to grab a new nail polish since I was tired of the ones I had and I needed a new bright one (Sally Hansen’s Sonic Boom FTW! By the way…every time I apply Sonic Boom now I have to think of Mortal Kombat…Sonic! Sonic! Sonic…BOOM! Ok…once again…I digress.) So I was walking down the cosmetics aisle and for some reason something caught the corner of my peripheral vision and when I turned I saw this…

sitting on the shelf. I don’t know why, I’ve tried mousse’s before, but this one was drawing me in like it had some sort of tractor beam and I couldn’t help myself. “Ok,” I thought, “I’m game. What’s the worst that could happen? I lose $8 on another crappy make-up that makes me shine like a diamond?” I picked out my shade (Light #2 Classic Ivory) and went home. Well, I paid for everything and then I went home, let’s not skip that step, it’s pretty critical to my reputation. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve been wearing it for about a week now and let me just tell you…I’m ridiculously in love!!! I have no glow, no shine, no grease, no oil, nothing but a smooth and beautiful complexion. Ahhh…heaven at last! No joke. This stuff is A-MAY-ZING! Even without the primer I don’t shine. I can easily wear it 10-12 hours without having to reapply it or touch it up, I don’t need those annoying little oil blotter sheets and I look fabulous if I do say so myself! Who would have thought? An $8 foundation from Maybelline from the aisleย at Wal-Mart would be my perfect foundation? I guess I should have paid more attention when all those commercials hinted at me, “Maybe she’s born with it, maybe it’s Maybelline” because I’ll tell you right now, I’m not born with it, it’s definitely Maybelline. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a necessity now, a bare necessity…cue the music!

“Look for the bare necessities – The simple bare necessities – Forget about your worries and your strife – I mean the bare necessities – That’s why a bear can rest at ease – with just the bare necessities of life” – Baloo / The Jungle Book

One thought on “Moose (Oops, I mean…Mousse) Face

  1. Hey ๐Ÿ™‚ Really glad you’ve found a foundation! I had a friend come visit me….she works in high-end fashion and lives off the top-of-the-range cosmetics. But when she tried my humbler high-street bits, she fell in love!

    I use Maxfactor’s Miracle Touch Liquid Illusion foundation……AMAZING! Doesn’t have the orange tinge to it like a lot of them out there ๐Ÿ™‚ If you’re interested, check out more: http://cleopatrasbeautybox.wordpress.com/2011/07/01/ra-ra-ra-rave/ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

