Some People are Angels


Have you heard that song “Angels Among Us” by Alabama? I’m not really a huge country music fan (I do like it, I’m just not a huge fan) but a string of events have unfolded recently that have made me think of that song and made me think that it really must be true. I’m not really a woman of faith and I do not observe any religion but I’m starting to think that there really must be Angels here on earth.

Sometimes bad things happen and there’s nothing you can do about it (to steal a line from Lion King) but sometimes it’s because there’s nothing you’re supposed to do about it. Sometimes bad things happen because bad things are supposed to happen and sometimes those bad things are supposed to happen to cause good things in the future. Are you following me?

For example…a few years ago my supervisor was having a really hard time at home with her family. Her husband had an addiction to painkillers and it was ruining their family. He lost his job. He wrecked and totaled her car. They got divorced. He was arrested. He got sober. They got remarried. He relapsed. He had a new girlfriend. They got divorced. He robbed a pharmacy. He got arrested. He got sober. They got remarried. Today, years later, they are still married, he is still sober and they are happier and better than ever. Years of suffering followed by years of counseling and sobereity and their marriage is stronger than ever, their communication is better than ever, they are more in love than ever and are very great, compassionate and understanding people.

I found out recently that she met a young woman through a mutual association whose husband was going through the same thing. He wasn’t at the point where he was stealing cars or robbing pharmacies but he did have an addiction. My supervisor said that she had recommended the doctor and the rehab program that had helped her husband and had been hopeful they would go and get the help they needed before they went down the same roads her family had gone down. Today I was talking to my supervisor and she told me that the young couple had gone to the doctor, had started the program and were doing fantastic. 🙂 That’s so good to hear!

She told me that when she had first mentioned them to her husband he had said, “I hope they are successful and they don’t make the mistakes we made. Sometimes I think that’s why we had to go through what we went through, so we can help other people avoid that heartache. God knew we would survive and be ok. Maybe that’s why we met them, so we could help them. Maybe that’s our purpose.”

She also told me that when she spoke to the young woman again and was told of their progress and good news the young woman said, “My husband said that he’s heard a lot of people talk as though that doctor is their hero for helping them and that’s probably true. That doctor is an amazing man but to my husband and I, you and your husband are our heroes. We never would have found this help or be doing so well if it wasn’t for you. We’re not the most religious people but even we have to admit that sometimes, you just have to admit that God puts you in a situation or makes you meet people for a reason. My husbands life, and probably our marriage, is saved because of you. Thank you.”

Aww! I love good stories like that. I mean, I hate that situation has to come up and I hate that people have to go through terrible times like that but I do like hearing about people helping people and I like hearing about people appreciating people and I like hearing about people being real-life angels to those that need them.

When life dealt troubled times and had me down on my knees
There’s always been someone there to come along and comfort me
A kind word from a stranger to lend a helping hand
A phone call from a friend just to say I understand
Ain’t it kind of funny at the dark end of the road
Someone lights the way with just a single ray of hope

Oh I believe there are angels among us
Sent down to us from somewhere up above
They come to you and me in our darkest hours
To show us how to live
To teach us how to give
To guide us with a light of love

They wear so many faces
Show up in the strangest places
Grace us with thier mercy
In our time of need

One thought on “Some People are Angels

Leave a Reply

