Soundtrack To My Dreams


I wake up every morning and have absolutely no idea what I dreamed about that night. I have no memory whatsoever of my dreams but I do know that they have an awesome soundtrack because I have some random song in my head everytime. Every. Single. Morning. It’s amazing. Sometimes I think I must just dream of dancing music notes. I can see it, it’s like something out of Alice in Wonderland, just a bunch of colorful notes dancing and shaking all around. It’s possible, I mean some people do have weird dreams after all.

Anyway, I was so intrigued by this soundtrack phenonemon of mine that I decided to track the songs that I woke up with in my head for the last two weeks to see if I could determine any sort of rhyme or reason to explain it but I can’t. Here is my two week list of “songs stuck in my head”. Sorry the list name isn’t more creative but I’ve been so consumed with this that it’s been hard to sleep. Ironic, no?

WEEK ONE

  1. Guns & Roses – Welcome to the Jungle
  2. Chicago Soundtrack – We Both Reached for the Gun
  3. Eminem – Cinderella Man
  4. Blue October – Hate Me
  5. Billy Joel – Piano Man
  6. Butthole Surfers – Pepper
  7. Nursery Rhyme – “Six little ducks went out to play, over the hills and far away, but the one little duck with the feather on his back, he led the others with his quack, quack, quack!”

WEEK TWO

  1. Wallflowers – One Headlight
  2. Tom Petty – Don’t Come Around Here No More
  3. Miranda Lambert – Only Prettier
  4. The Offspring – You’re Gonna Go Far, Kid
  5. Seether – Gasoline
  6. No Doubt – Hey Baby
  7. Waylon Jennings – Mama’s Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to be Cowboys

Seriously, WTF?! Please explain to me what the hell I could possibly be thinking that makes me wake up with those songs in my head? Am I just singing all night long? My husband swears I don’t say a thing. He could be lying though, I could be singing all night in my sleep, rocking out in my pj’s, while he videotapes the whole thing and stores the videos away as secret blackmail footage for the day when he really, really, really wants to win an argument. He wouldn’t do that though so I might be having crazy epic dreams of being a rockstar and I just happen to wake up at a point in the show where I’m performing the song listed above. Or I just have random dreams (week one) of partying with rockstars while I shoot my lover for being married while thinking of Russell Crowe boxing a drunken drug addict who feels remorse while someone plays the piano and someone reminisces about the old days all the while a bunch of people in Texas are in love with dying as six ducks wonder by making a whole lot of racket. Then (week two) a car with one headlight drives around town making sure that the girls that were told to get the hell out don’t try to come around here no more because even though they are like us, we are prettier and so we hired a sniper to take out the people we kicked out and he’s apparently a really great sniper who’s going to go really far and he really wants to get down and dirty with a girl who’s cycling through her period and when he mentions it it turns her on and she’s all like, “Hey Baby!” even though it’s gross and at the end we realize it’s all ok to drive around unsafe and patrol the town to make sure people stay out and not like people who aren’t as pretty as you and snipe people and do dirty things and be a major flirt as long as you don’t let your kids be cowboys. You know, there’s nothing as bad as a cowboy so Mama’s gotta make sure their kids don’t pick guitars and drive them ole trucks, let ’em be doctors, and lawyers, and such.

WTH?

2 thoughts on “Soundtrack To My Dreams

    • That’s possible too. Yet another theory I must consider. Maybe I’ll try to avoid music entirely for a whole day and see what happens that night.

Leave a Reply

