It’s My Birthday


It’s my birthday! I love this day! Who doesn’t though? I mean, really, who doesn’t love their birthday? I know I love mine! I turn 29 today, it’s my last year in my 20’s and you know what? I’m excited about that. I keep thinking, “This is my last year as a 20-something year old. I have to make this count!” Next year I’ll turn 30 and when you are a 30-something the expectations that people have of you start to shift and change. When you are a 20-something you are allowed to be a little wild and a little reckless and a little impulsive but when you are a 30-something you are supposed to have your wild days behind you, be more responsible and more grounded, be less impulsive and more decisive. I’m married and finishing college this Fall so I suppose they are right, it’s time to settle down and enjoy adulthood and to be honest, I’m ready. As a matter of fact, I’m so ready I’m going to settle down and enjoy adulthood starting now. My wild and reckless days were fun (mostly) but I’m also very happy to leave them behind.

So what am I doing this year for my birthday? Well, not much to be honest. I’m  busy! I just started a new job last month and my summer classes have started and my husband’s summer classes have started so our time is pretty much spoken for. I thought about taking an overnight trip somewhere but we have a puppy. We can’t leave him home alone, we can’t take him with us (most hotels in the places we would go don’t allow pets) and there is no one in town we would trust to dog-sit for us (remember…we just moved here). We are going out to dinner. I always go out for dinner on my birthday, I love to cook, but not on my birthday. Where are we going? Well, that was the choice to be made. Where? Oh where? Where will we eat? There are tons of little restaurants around here but I’m sort of feeling like I want something familiar, some place I’m comfortable with, so I picked Ruby Tuesday. When I was in high school in FL my best friend worked there for a while and we ate there a lot. It was also in the mall so it was a frequent stopping place during shopping trips and since it was on the way to the ballpark we ate there a lot on game days. Yes, it brings back the nostalgia of my FL days. Plus, I can sing The Rolling Stones, “Goodbye, Ruby Tuesday. Who could hang a name on you? When you change with every new day, still I’m gonna miss you…”

We’re also thinking of a movie. We love our movies! We try to go to the movies every week and this week, since it’s my birthday I get to pick the movie. I love comedies! They are my genre of choice. His genre of choice is horror (which I honestly don’t mind because it gives me an excuse to be *scared* and cuddle next to him.) So, what good comedy movie is coming out this weekend? Why, The Hangover II of course! So yes, we will be going to see that this weekend. I can’t wait to get some serious belly laughs rolling!

Do you want to know how my birthday started? I mean, besides waking up in the arms of the most wonderful and incredible husband ever. I woke up and stumbled toward the light to find the most beautiful birthday card ever which started out, “To My Wife…” and went on about how beautiful I am and how beautiful our life together is and how beautiful every day is just because we are together. Cue the 6am teary eyes. ♥ I had to crawl back in bed just to kiss him. Then later I see, on my Facebook wall,

“Happy Birthday Beautiful! You are an amazing & wonderful woman. Every morning when I open my eyes to start a new day, I am reminded of the gift of happiness that I received when you came into my life. Thank you for that happiness. I am so in love with you & am excited that I get to spend my life loving & adoring you.”

Awww! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

There’s nothing quite like a public show of love and affection. Four more hours and then I am heading home from work and spending my birthday night with the love of my life!

2 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday

Leave a Reply

