Tick – Tock, Tick – Tock


So goes my clock tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock.

Do you know that sound? Have you ever been in a quiet room trying to read a book or study for an exam or take a nap and hear nothing  but the incessant tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock of a nearby clock? It’s rather annoying isn’t it? Whenever I hear it I get the urge to tear the clock down off the wall and crush that little tick-tock motor or at the very least I get the urge to leave the room. What do I do though when it’s my clock that is ticking? When it’s my biological clock that is going tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock? I can’t crush my own little motor and I certainly can’t walk away from it. It follows me everywhere I go going…

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, you’re married and your husband is such a wonderful man, Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, he would be an amazing father! Look at how he treats you and your puppy. Aww ♥ Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, you have a stable job with a good income and great benefits. Insurance is a big deal and you’ve got that nailed. Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, you are 29. The doctors say that risks increase around age 30. You do want two or three kids, how long do you plan on waiting to get started? Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, he is older than you are. Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

OMG…shut up! shut up! shut up!

Then my rational side argues back…

It has only been the two of us so we have kept a one-bedroom apartment. Where would we put a baby in a one bedroom apartment? Then I hear, Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock you’re lease is up in October which is 4 months from now. You could move to a new place before baby comes. Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

I want to graduate from college before I have a family. Once again though, Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock you graduate in December which is 7 months from now. You will be graduated before baby comes. Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

I want my husband to graduate from college before we have a family. Then one more time, Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, he graduates in December too! Once again, that is 7 months from now. Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

But what if we don’t graduate on time? What if the classes we need aren’t offered this fall and it postpones graduation? What if he can’t find a job right away after graduation? What if we aren’t ready? Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock you are never ready. Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock.

So what do we do? We continue to listen to my obnoxious clock and try to figure out when we want to start our family. I know my clock is running on emotion and telling me my body is ready but my head keeps telling me to wait, at least one more year. If I wait one more year I’ll be a little more secure in my job, we will both have graduated from college, he will be working in his career field and we can be in a bigger place. One more year.

Until then…Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

Leave a Reply

