Missing Grandma


I lost my Grandma last year on July 26th. I was with her until her very last breath. Sitting by her bed at the hospital listening to the machines beat slower and slower, watching her blood pressure and heart rate dropping lower and lowrr was the hardest thing I have ever done. I cried. A lot. I feel fortunate that I was able to see her and say goodbye before she passed away but I really wish she was still here. I am grateful for the time I was able to spend with her and I have many fond memories of her, I just wish she was here to see my wedding and hold my future children. She was a wonderful woman with a heart of gold.

Today should be her birthday. I wish I could call her and tell het Happy Birthday and tell her how much I love her. Even though she is not here I am going to celebrate her life anyway and I’m going to focus on how much her life meant to me and how much better my life is now because she was once a part of it.

She believed that once she passed away she would find eternal life in Heaven. That gave her peace in her final hours. I hope she was right and I hope she is in Heaven now having a birthday party with the other angels. I hope those angels made her a carrot cake, it was her favorite.

MaMa Phyllis…the greatest Grandma I could have ever asked for. I love and miss her.

Leave a Reply

