Scream 4


We went and saw Scream 4 last night.  It was pretty good and I liked it better than #2. I have not seen #3 (and I promise you, it doesn’t affect #4 at all) so I can’t say if it’s better than #3 and it definitely wasn’t as good as #1 so I suppose my Scream hierarchy would go like this…

#1 – Scream 1

#2 – Scream 4

#3 – Scream 2

Unknown – Scream 3

I’ll watch Scream 3 this weekend sometime, from the people I’ve asked I’ve gotten mixed reviews. Some people have really liked it and other people have really disliked it so I don’t know where I’ll be but I will watch it. Sometime.

So Scream 4 was good and I liked it and there were definitely some scenes that made us jump and there were a few really good kill scenes (like this one cop…wow!) but there were also some really campy parts of the movie like the intro. It was stupid. It made me feel like I was watching a spoof movie like “Scary Movie.” Lame. Very, very, very lame.

There was also some stupid dialogue, there were just some things that were said that made me groan and think to myself, “Really???! Did they have to say that stupid shit? Did they really have to ruin that awesome scene with that lame little comment?” So ugh…yeah…fuck Bruce Willis.

I can remember one or two fight scenes that were lame too and one was so, so, so bad I found myself wondering why they bothered to edit out the tether cables attached to the actor because it was so obvious he was being pulled backward by them. It was rough to watch. That was only one scene though.

My main problem with the movie was Courtney Cox / Gale Weathers. She was so useless in this one! It came across as desperate on both the part of Cox and Weathers (yeah, I know it’s the same person). It just seemed like Cox was desperate to be in the movie so they forced her character in and then with her character in the movie it was like Weathers was so desperate to be involved in the storyline that they forced her in but it didn’t work. Every time they showed her on screen I found myself hoping Ghostface would kill her so I wouldn’t have to be bothered with her anymore.

All in all though, I liked it. I know I’m pointing out all of the flaws but it really was a good movie. The kill scenes were great, the movie made me jump, the storyline made sense, it kept me on my toes and I really did spend the large majority of the movie trying to figure out who the killer was. Overall, I would give it between 3.5 and 4 stars outta 5. Can I say 3.8? That’s what I would do, I would give it a 3.8. If you haven’t seen it, and you’ve liked the other Scream movies, go see it. Aside from a few moments here and there it was really well done and a great movie.

Leave a Reply

