Complicated


Why is wedding stuff so complicated?!?!

We are not formally engaged yet but we both know that a wedding is in our not-so-distant future. We’ve talked about engagement and are ring shopping but I’m still not committed to a ring although I’ve narrowed it down to my top couple of styles, but we’ve just been so busy with school and exams and finding jobs that the engagement planning has taken a back seat to life. Still though, we know it’s on the horizon and since engagement means wedding I’ve been browsing wedding websites for inspiration.

Enter….OVERWHELMED!

There is SO much to do! So, so, so much to do! Ceremony site…Reception site…Bridal fashion…Groom fashion…attendants…Ceremony decorations…aisle runner…vows…transportation…catering…full meals? appetizers only? Cake? Cupcakes? Dessert bar? Alcohol? No alcohol? Open bar? Paid bar? Reception decorations…Hire DJ…find photographer…invitations…and on…and on…and on…and on…and on.

OMG!

It makes me want to runaway and elope. I wouldn’t do that because I know my parents would be upset and I couldn’t do that to them so I go back to thinking about wedding plans. We have talked about having the wedding back in Florida and he wants a beach ceremony. I’m back and forth on a beach ceremony. Sometimes I think “YES! That would be SO great!” It would be beautiful and warm and tropical and laid back but then I think “NO! OMG…how horrible!” I’m short and I couldn’t wear heels, heels in the sand just doesn’t work out. I want to wear my hair down but if it’s warm then it could get a little sweaty and how gross in the pictures! Plus, it’s humid in Florida so how would that mess with my hair and make-up? Plus some styles of gown and some fabrics just don’t mesh well with the beachy outdoors so then I think indoor ceremony. Then I start to feel bad because Brandon is just so amazing and I just love and adore him so damn much and he wants a ceremony on the beach so maybe I could work out the beach ceremony and then move to an indoor reception? That would work. Besides, the ceremony isn’t usually too long and if we have it later in the day and during a cooler month then it wouldn’t affect my hair or make-up. We’ve been talking about September or October anyway (which increases my stress level because that’s only 5-6 months from now and I’m not even in planning stages yet. We probably won’t be engaged until June).

So…the beach? Maybe.

There are a few cool things about a beach theme, like this wedding cake. Isn’t it cute? I like it.

I found a really cool restaurant where I could have the reception. It’s indoors and it’s waterfront with these panoramic windows so we would still have a few of the harbor and the beach. It has a dance floor and lots of food options…enter another dilemma. We want to keep it low-key and are planning on keeping the whole event to about 30 guests so we could go with a full meal which I think we probably will. What kind of food? Waiters or buffet? What color tablecloths? Napkins? Dishes? Centerpieces? How many tables?

Wow…decisions…decisions…decisions…

11 thoughts on “Complicated

  1. Oh yes, I definitely know what you mean! Complicated says it all! Have you seen the Knot Book of Lists? That has been a good help for me. Although, I’m kind of doing things of out the standard order. But is there really a standard way of doing things for a wedding? I think not. Another good resource I recommend is http://www.bestdestinationweddings.com. It has a forum with all kinds of good info on venues, tips, and etc. Lastly, you can always check the Knot Best List of 2011 Vendors in the area http://www.theknot.com/Vendors/best-of-weddings/all-South+Florida/065#CAR . If your in between a beach or inside venue, I like your idea of maybe having a ceremony outside and the reception inside. One thing I’m considering as well is to find a nice beachfront restaurant. Usually they will allow you to use their private beach for a ceremony. Then you can bring your reception inside the restaurant. One last thing I do is also look up on the Knot forums for my venue area, the writers in those forums usually have websites dedicated to their planning. I love to go through those and get ideas of vendors and etc. I’m sure these are all resources you’ve already looked into, but I figured I’d throw in some of my favorite resources. Good luck girl! And if there’s any way I can be of help let me know. 🙂

    • I found a restaurant that allows you to have your wedding on their docks but from the pictures I looked at it didn’t look very pretty. I’m still searching. It helps that my sister lives about 20 minutes from the town where we plan on having the wedding so I can send her to scope out the places I see online. 🙂 I registered with The Knot but I haven’t really used any of their resources, I’ve been mostly using WeddingWire because I can get their app on my phone so I can update my profile and budget from there even though there’s nothing to update since we’re not yet formally engaged. Like I said…I think that’s coming around June. Ugh…two more months.

  2. I love to research, and although I don’t know your preferences- I would be glad to do some research for you. I think I’ve over-researched my venues already- now I’m just waiting to actually take a visit for myself. Lol and I know the waiting is torture, especially when you know a proposal is in the works. If you read the Knot Magazine, they usually have a summarized countdown which can be helpful. You can start at the 6 month countdown since you guys are planning for this fall. That is great that you have a sister in the area who is able to scope out for you. Getting a personal review from her on a venue will be really helpful! When doing a quick google I found these two which look cute:
    http://beachhouse.groupersandwich.com/
    http://marvista.groupersandwich.com/
    Were one of these the one you were referring to?
    Although this stuff is so unbelievably complicated I looove researching it all. The anticipation is ridiculous!

    • I was actually trying to decide between these two for a reception but the second one doesn’t really give much info on their website which I find frustrating.
      http://mattisons.com/pages/weddings.cfm
      http://riverhousereefandgrill.com/
      If we do go for a beachside ceremony I think I’m going to use
      http://floridasunweddings.com/
      to put it all together for me. I like vintage/rustic stuff though and he’s definitely more tropical so I’ve been browsing the web like crazy looking for ways to blend it all together. It’s hard when you’re planning a wedding out of town, but neither one of us really have roots here in Alabama (we’re both pretty new here) so back in FL near our family / friends just makes the most sense. I’m definitely grateful for your research help! I’ll check out those links you shared. 🙂

    • Oh…and the BeachHouse = cute!!! I’ve added it to my list of “maybes.” I like the Sandbar too but I don’t like the idea of having my reception outside under a pavilion. BeachHouse though I’m definitely going to have to consider.

  3. Awesome! I’m glad you like, I thought they were cute! I agree with you on the pavilion thing too. Oh and I love the venues you already were looking at as well! Very good choices! For good rustic decor Etsy probably has some cute stuff. I love rustic too, so if I find anything cute I’ll definitely keep you updated. Are you planning any diy activities or is that still far down the road? I always get so ahead of myself and have my decor and little details planned before I have even found a venue. Not good lol.

  4. I want to DIY on some stuff but then I have to figure out how to get all that stuff down to FL. I don’t think I’ll be able to pack it all to take with me, I guess maybe I could ship it to my mom or sister and have them store it until the time comes. I’ve heard so many good things about Etsy, I’m going to have to get on there and check it out. I love the idea of mason jars with a votive candle inside surrounded by seashells. I think those would be cute as aisle runners, or I could hang them at the end of each aisle in place of flowers. In that picture I used, I love the half-circle of chairs facing the bride & groom. I like that more than aisles, especially since we’re having a small ceremony.

  5. Oh…and do you use StumbleUpon.com? I’ve been stumbling through their “wedding” category for days and OMG…the ideas and inspiration! 🙂

  6. I have to agree, as much as I love DIY stuff, it may be hard with destination weddings. That’s a good idea to send it up ahead of time though with a relative. I may send mine to my planner, once I find one. Lol. I love your decor/seating ideas, especially the votive candle. The half circle seems like it would be great for an intimate ceremony. I hadn’t thought about chair arrangements until you mentioned it. The half-circle is something I really think I will consider. Definitely check out Etsy, I love everything on there pretty much and I will definitely be checking out StumbleUpon. Thanks for the ideas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

