What to Wear?


I start my new job on Tuesday and I’m super amped! I’m like Yes! Yes! Yes! I’m so excited…and I just can’t hide it…I’m about to lose control and I think I like it! Ok, so maybe I’m not really singing and dancing around my apartment but you know what? I am pretty excited, in fact, I am so familiar with this line of work and so comfortable with this industry and the people I interviewed with were all so kind and friendly that I’m really only stressing about one thing…what to wear!

Isn’t that just like a woman? 🙂 I finally get the kind of job I’ve been looking for over the last six months and my main concern before I start work is what I’m going to wear my first day. I feel like a kid again, all excited over the first day back to school. I just don’t know what to wear. There is a part of me that wants to wear a dress. I’m totally a dress girl. I love them, I actually own about 33 work appropriate dresses, one for every day of the month, plus a few spares. 🙂 Plus, now it is springtime so it’s perfect dress season! I keep going back to this purple floral dress I have thinking I could wear it with my new shiny purple/black heels that I bought from ShoeDazzle. That would be super cute! Or I have this really beautiful royal blue/black dress that I could wear with my black ruffly heels, that is one of my favorite dresses after all. Is a dress too much for the first day though? I have been in the office twice now and I have paid attention to the office fashion and I have not seen a single woman in there wear a dress, it’s been pants and blouses. Shouldn’t I try to conform to the “office norm” on my first day?

Thinking along the pants and blouse train of thought, I have a pair of soft and very comfortable khaki pants but they strike me as too casual for the first day. I’m just not feeling them. I have a few pairs of brown pants (pinstripes, houndstooth, and plain) but I can’t wear them because I have lost about 20lbs and they are too big on me. I have my black dress pants but I wore them to the interview. Do you think they would remember? Probably not, right? Besides, black pants are pretty much a staple in any professional wardrobe. They are so boring though! They are also dark. I don’t want to wear boring and dark on my first day to work. I know I could jazz it up with my blouse and accessories but still… Plus those pants are too big too, even with a belt they are loose.

I need to go shopping, don’t I? Yes. Yes, I do.

So, I keep going back to a dress. If I wear a dress though am I obligated to wear pantyhose? I hate pantyhose. I wasn’t given a dress code, I was only given information that said the dress code is “business casual.” Does business casual mean that I am required to wear pantyhose? I suppose that not being clear on that means I have two choices – 1) I can wear pantyhose and err on the side of caution and then clarify when I get there whether or not they are actually required. 2) I can not wear pantyhose and not bring it up. I can then wait to see if someone says I should wear pantyhose and then feign ignorance and promise to remember that in the future I will wear them. The proper thing to do would be #1 but I am more inclined to go with #2…or I could just wear pants.

So what do I do? I don’t know yet…I just don’t know. I have a feeling my unsuspecting boyfriend may have a fashion show in store for him tomorrow as my indecisive self tries out outfit after outfit for his opinion. Dress? Or Pants?

 

Leave a Reply

