Where Your Heart Is…


I saw this picture on the internet today and it immediately took me back to the months before I made the decision to move from Florida to Alabama for my boyfriend.

You see, we met online but not on one of those dating websites like EHarmony or Match.com, no, it was just regular old MySpace. We didn’t even actually talk on MySpace, that is just where we became “friends” for the first time. I’m convinced to this day that we are just meant to be because I don’t approve people as “friends” that I don’t know or at the very least have some degree of separation to (a really great friend of a friend who I might have something in common with? Ok…but with restrictions). I believe he found me and added me because we played one of the same application games. One day out of the blue I got a message from him that he was leaving MySpace for Facebook and to add him on there. I wrote him back that I didn’t use Facebook (obviously…this was years ago. MySpace is dead now and I’m all over Facebook!) and that was that. A few months later I did sign up for Facebook and I did add him. We still didn’t talk, he was just in my feed. One night though in September 2009 I had just finished a really horrible day at work and was having a really horrible day at home and I was on Facebook and I opened up the chat box and he was online. I thought to myself, “What the hell. Let’s chat.” so I messaged him, he wrote back, and we ended up chatting or an hour or so. When the chat ended I remember thinking, “Wow. He’s amazing!! Why haven’t I talked to him before?” Well, one chat turned in to a few more, then e-mails, then more phone calls and more e-mails, then more phone calls and more e-mails. We talked about everything and before we knew it we had fallen completely in love and trying to figure out how to be together. I lived in Florida, he lived in Alabama, so how were we going to do this?

How were we going to do it? Were we crazy for thinking that we could make a relationship work when we had never really met in person and lived 13 hours away from each other in completely different states? Actually, most of the people in my life were supportive and encouraging and in September of 2010 I booked a flight and flew here to see him. The moment we saw each other and he hugged me I knew I never, ever, ever wanted to be away from him again. It was the absolute best three days ever but they went by so quick. When the day came for me to go back to Florida I was heartbroken. I felt like I already was exactly where I was supposed to be and I couldn’t understand why I was leaving it. I mean, I knew in my head I had to go back to Florida. We had already talked and made the decision for me to move to Alabama so we could start our life together and I knew I had to go back and pack my things and turn in my resignation at work and say goodbye to my friends and family there but it still felt so wrong! I cried on the way to the airport, I cried on the plane, I cried during the layover, and I cried in my car heading back to my house. The farther south I went the more heartbroken I felt. When I got home and I announced I was moving everyone was so supportive and encouraging and was telling me how they knew I was doing the right thing and wished us all the happiness in the world. I went to the work the next day and turned in my resignation and two weeks later, I moved.

It has been the absolute greatest decision of my life. I feel like I have found my very best friend and the love of my life and I truly feel like the happiest woman in the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

