Black Swan


We watched Black Swan last night. I was excited about it because I’ve wanted to see that movie since I first heard about it and my boyfriend wanted to see it because there had been so much hype around it so we snuggled in for a little Black Swan action and I’ve gotta say, we were both disappointed in it.

It was definitely beautiful! Really though, how could it not be when it stars Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis and the cinematography was gorgeous but the story? I was disappointed. I was anxious to see it because it was sold as a suspenseful thriller but you know what? It wasn’t. It was weak. I expected so much more and when it ended we both just sort of looked at each other with a “Huh?” expression. About halfway through the movie I finally had to just accept that the movie wasn’t as deep as it had been presented and it really was all about Natalie Portman being obsessed to the point of psychosis. End. Of. Story. Nothing in the movie made sense because it happened, then it unhappened. Does that make sense? Probably not, but neither did the movie. It was disappointing too because here I thought we were going to watch a creepy psycho-thriller but we didn’t. It was lame and it was very over-hyped.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I watched it, thought it was beautiful and I loved watching the ballet because ballet is so graceful and feminine and enchanting but it was only the dancing scenes I liked. At the end of the movie when she was dancing as the Black Swan, oh my it was beautiful! I was definitely entranced by it but the story was weak so it was kind of like just flipping through a picture book enjoying the pictures but not really caring about the story.

I think the next time I’m feeling like watching a ballet I’ll actually go to a ballet. Last October they had the “Dracula” ballet here in town and it looked so pretty! I wanted to go see it but since it was about two weeks after my move we just didn’t have the finances. I also found out that there is a ballet theatre in Huntsville which I am now thinking I should probably look up and check out their schedule. Now that I have seen Black Swan it actually has put me in the mood to see Swan Lake again. I’ll have to keep an eye out for The Nutcracker too this Christmas. I’d love to see that again. I saw it back in Florida in 2006, or was it 2007? I can’t remember. I remember seeing it billed as “The Russian Ballet Troupe” and I was excited especially after seeing that a few of the dancers were also acrobats but it was so disappointing. There was practically no set or background or props and it was weak. The dancing was bad and although it was cute that they used local kids on stage during some of the scenes it made the whole thing end up feeling like a youth recital than the Russian Ballet. I do miss seeing stage shows though, I went and saw “Wicked’ on stage in Orlando a few years ago and it was fantastic! Not a ballet but still a fabulous show!

Leave a Reply

