The Fighter


We’re night owls. I never really thought of myself as a “night person” before but tonight when we were sitting on the couch at midnight quietly lost in our own little worlds of web surfing and Food Network’s Cupcake Wars (obviously I was the one watching Cupcake Wars) and he turned to me and said, “Do you want to watch a movie? We haven’t seen The Fighter yet.” and I said, “Yes” it occurred to me that I must indeed be a night person because only a night person would agree to a two-hour movie at midnight. I might not make such a declaration if midnight movies were a rare occurrence but they aren’t. We routinely watch movies at midnight and go to bed around 3am or later even though we have to be up by 7 or 8am for work and school. It’s just how our clocks work I suppose. I don’t know.

So, The Fighter. It was a great movie! I’ll admit that I was pretty interested in seeing it because I have quite the crush on Christian Bale and I thought the idea of him sweaty with his shirt off would make me swoon but it didn’t happen that way. He is a crack addict who spends a lot of the movie in jail (That’s not a spoiler. It was in the previews that were all over tv.) Mark Wahlberg spends most of the movie fighting and quite a few shirtless and sweaty scenes. He’s a good actor but not a heartthrob to me so while I didn’t spend much of the movie in a glassy-eyed and swoon-induced daze I did enjoy the movie. I enjoyed it very much. I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would and I thought I would enjoy it a lot. It was based on a true story (which I always love) and the acting was great (but how could it not be with those two guys?) and the cinematography was awesome. The camera work was really great, especially during the fighting scenes and especially during the last fighting scene.

I only noticed one movie mistake. It was during the final fight in the movie and the camera shows Amy Adams sitting in the front row cheering on Wahlberg. Her hair is pinned back but the next time they show her it’s not pinned and it’s parted on the side and then the next scene it’s back to being pinned back again. I told my boyfriend about it and he said, “I didn’t notice. I guess that’s one of those things it takes a girl to notice.” He’s probably right, it probably does take a girl to notice a change in hairstyle during a bloody boxing match in a fighting movie.

I loved the movie. It’s not my favorite boxing movie, that honor still belongs to Cinderella Man, but it was very good. Now it’s 2am, I’m still up and don’t feel like I could sleep even if I wanted to. My chihuahua is sleeping though. He looks like this…

I’m jealous.

I have Black Swan on the movie list next. I’ll probably watch it tomorrow night. I’m sure we will both enjoy it, me for the dancing and him for the Natalie Portman / Mila Kunis kissing scene that has been oh-so-talked about. I like ballet. I used to dance ballet when I was a little girl but eventually it gets to wear ballerinas are supposed to be tall and lean which didn’t quite mesh with my short and curvy little self. Now I just live precariously through ballerina movies and going to see ballets and I’ve stuck with silly dance moves while I cook or clean my house. I’ve been told my body would have been better suited to gymnastics but where was that advice and guidance when I was 5? It doesn’t really matter though because I eventually found my niche with martial arts which I loved, maybe that is why I love boxing movies. I like fighting. I know, it’s not very girlie or cute or sparkly but I do have a streak inside of me that is a little bit, well, tough. 🙂

Enough of my nonsense, the point is that The Fighter was a really good movie and absolutely worth watching.

Leave a Reply

